10 Years of Libereco

Exactly ten years ago, ten enthusiasts met in a room of the Bonn Institute for Microbiology and Biotechnology “to found the organisation ‘Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights’”, as the very first protocol says.

A lot has happened since 1 February 2009. Libereco has not only grown significantly, but our actions have become ever more extensive and our partnerships farther branched.

To mark the 10th anniversary of the founding of Libereco, we want to take a look back at the past decade, the most important projects and the key milestones of our organisation.

Working for a decade in human rights on Belarus

Almost all of the ten founding members of Libereco were active in the Bonn chapter of Amnesty International before founding our organisation. Since the turn of the millennium, some of them had already been working to improve the human rights situation in Belarus. Against the background of massive repressions against government critics, Libereco was founded to focus even more strongly on this post-Soviet country. From the very beginning we were able to use many existing contacts with Belarusian organisations and activists, and to expand these connections in the following years. In particular, our cooperation with the most important Belarusian human rights organization, Viasna, should be mentioned here.

In the first few years following the foundation of Libereco, we mainly lobbied for the release of political prisoners and for victims of repression and state arbitrariness in Belarus. For this purpose we also founded a patronage committee, which included the then Member of the European Parliament Marek Migalski and the former Member of the German Bundestag Marieluise Beck.

Later, the work of our organisation increasingly shifted to awareness raising and wider-ranging projects, as well as educational work and training in the field of human rights: From 2011 to 2013 our exhibition on the situation of human rights in Belarus toured through Germany and Switzerland; in 2014 we organised the first “Belarus Barcamp” in Wernigerode; and in 2015 and 2016 we observed the presidential and parliamentary elections in Belarus as part of the trinational journalistic research trip “Belarus Votes”. We also advocated for Belarusian students exmatriculated for political reasons and evaluated everyday repression in the months following the lifting of EU sanctions against Belarus.

In our current project, which has been running since autumn 2018, we are working together with the Belarusian Helsinki Committee and Humana Constanta on a report on the human rights situation of the homeless in Belarus. The results will be presented to the Belarusian and international public during a media trip in spring 2019.

Graphic Novel documents human rights violations in Donbas

Since the annexation of Crimea and the outbreak of war in Donbas, human rights violations have also increased in Ukraine, especially in the conflict areas. That is why Libereco has also been active in Ukraine since spring 2014. In the beginning, we mainly collected donations for humanitarian projects, which resulted in strong partnerships in human rights and educational work.

Our central project in human rights work on Ukraine is the graphic novel “Crossroads”, which we produced in 2017 together with human rights and civil society activists, as well as local artists.

The graphic novel depicts fear and misery, decisions and hopes of the people in Eastern Ukraine. Since mid-2018, we have been developing concepts for using the book in human rights education. In addition to the existing Ukrainian and Russian versions, we will soon translate and distribute the book in English and German as well.

100,000 Euro donated since 2009

Since the foundation of our organisation in 2009, we have been collecting donations to document and publicise human rights violations, in order to increase the political pressure on the governments responsible. We also help people in need both in Belarus and Ukraine.

In the past ten years we have collected almost 100,000 euros – many donors have regularly supported us and our work since the beginning. They deserve our special thanks!

But what happened to that money? We have supported human rights organisations and homeless projects in Belarus. But above all we have helped people in need in Ukraine: The money raised in Germany, The Netherlands and Switzerland has benefited wounded civilians from the Euromaidan in Kiyv and the war zones in Eastern Ukraine.

Thanks to the donations collected by Libereco, our Ukrainian partner organisation Vostok SOS was also able to buy an ambulance, and renovate both a school and several children’s’ and youth centres, equipping them with hardware, learning materials and toys. Since 2014, together with Vostok SOS, we have also been able to provide hundreds of people – especially the elderly, sick and families with children – with humanitarian aid packages in areas close to the still active frontline.

Given the many small successes and some major ones over the past ten years, one thing must not be forgotten: Almost all of Libereco’s work is done on a voluntary basis – be it during leisure time, at weekends or late at night. Therefore, special thanks goes not only to all former and currently active members, but also to our companions and supporters, who have trusted Libereco all these years and have motivated us to sometimes take unusual steps.

We will celebrate our anniversary in Berlin in early summer – and we want to party with as many friends, helpers, partner organisations and guests as possible! We will inform you about the date in our newsletter, which you can subscribe to here, if you have not already done so.

10 years of Libereco in numbers:

  1. We currently have 40 members in Germany, Switzerland and The Netherlands.
  2. Since 2009 we have completed eight major projects, while two more are currently underway.
  3. In total, we have worked with almost 20 different partner organisations from Germany, Belarus, Ukraine, Poland and Lithuania.
  4. We have had international cooperations, campaigns and petitions with NGOs from the USA, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Norway, South Africa, Slovakia and Switzerland.
  5. Local Libereco groups are currently active in Berlin, Munich and Zurich.
  6. In the ten years of our existence, our website has been clicked more than 660,000 times.
  7. Libereco has been a member of MitOst since 2014 and part of the Civic Solidarity Platform since 2017.

10 years of Libereco in pictures:

Bonn, 2009: The founding meeting.

Zurich, 2010: Protest against massive state repressions and the crackdown on a major demonstration after the Belarusian presidential election.

Dresden, 2011: Liberecopresents an exhibition about the human rights situation in Belarus at the Protestant Kirchentag.

Brussels, 2012: A total of 15 representatives of Libereco, Gefangenes Wort, the Federation for Social Defence and the Berlin Belarus group of Amnesty International, as well as the Belarusian political activist and journalist Alyaksandr Atroshchankau and the Chairman of the Assembly of NGOs of Belarus, Siarhiej Mackievic, visited the EU Parliament. Among others, we spoke with Filip Kaczmarek (centre), then Chairman of the EU Delegation for Relations with Belarus.

Hamburg, 2013: Together with Green politician Katrin Göring-Eckardt, at the Protestant Kirchentag Libereco called for the release of all political prisoners in Belarus.

Leipzig, 2014: Two-day workshop on human rights in Belarus and Ukraine.

Minsk, 2015: At Minsk Central Station, participants of “Belarus Votes”, a journalistic election observation of the Belarusian presidential election 2015 co-organized by Libereco.

Berlin, 2016: Preparatory workshop for the second edition of “Belarus Votes” in the run-up to the Belarusian parliamentary elections in 2016.

Kyiv, 2017: Meeting of the graphic novel project group. Project leader and historian Imke Hansen from Libereco explains why the graphic novel is an opportunity to present human rights violations that are difficult to describe with words alone.

Shchastya, 2018: Two members of the Libereco Executive Board travelled to Eastern Ukraine to intensify contacts with our partner organisation Vostok SOS, as well as to develop ideas for future projects. They were able to learn more about the work in Eastern Ukraine directly – as here in conversation with two residents of the small town of Shchastya, which lies directly on the frontline.

10 Jahre Libereco

Auf den Tag genau vor zehn Jahren sind in einem Raum des Bonner Instituts für Mikrobiologie und Biotechnologie zehn Enthusiast*innen zusammengekommen: „Um die Gründung des Vereins ‚Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights‘ zu beschließen“, wie es in dem allerersten Protokoll heißt.

Seit dem 1. Februar 2009 ist viel passiert. Libereco ist nicht nur kräftig gewachsen, auch unsere Aktionen sind immer umfangreicher und die Partnerschaften weit verzweigter geworden. Zum 10 Jahrestag der Gründung von Libereco wagen wir nun einen Blick zurück auf die vergangenen Jahre, die wichtigsten Projekte und zentralen Wegmarken unserer Organisation.

Seit einem Jahrzehnt in der Menschenrechtsarbeit zu Belarus aktiv

Fast alle der zehn Libereco-Gründungsmitglieder kamen aus der Bonner Ortsgruppe von Amnesty International. Sie hatten sich schon teils seit der Jahrtausendwende insbesondere für eine Verbesserung der Menschenrechtslage in Belarus eingesetzt. Um vor dem Hintergrund dortiger massiver Repressalien gegen Regierungskritiker den internationalen Fokus noch stärker auf das postsowjetische Land zu richten, ist Libereco gegründet worden. Von Anfang an konnten wir viele bestehende Kontakte zu belarussischen Organisationen und Aktivist*innen nutzen und diese in den folgenden Jahren noch weiter ausbauen. Zu nennen ist hier insbesondere die Zusammenarbeit mit der wichtigsten belarussischen Menschenrechtsorganisation Viasna.

In den ersten Jahren nach der Gründung machten wir vornehmlich deutschland- und europaweit Lobbyarbeit für die Freilassung politischer Gefangener und für Opfer von Repressionen und staatlicher Willkür in Belarus. Dazu gründeten wir auch ein Patronatskomitee, dem unter anderem der damalige Europaparlamentarier Marek Migalski und die Ex-Bundestagsabgeordnete Marieluise Beck angehörten.

Später verlagerte sich die Arbeit des Vereins zunehmend auf öffentlichkeits- und breitenwirksame Projekte sowie Bildungsarbeit und Trainings im Menschenrechtsbereich: Von 2011 bis 2013 tourte unsere Ausstellung zur Menschenrechtslage in Belarus durch ganz Deutschland und die Schweiz, 2014 organisierten wir das erste „Belarus Barcamp“ in Wernigerode und in den Jahren 2015 sowie 2016 beobachteten wir die Präsidentschafts- beziehungsweise Parlamentswahlen in Belarus im Rahmen der trinationalen journalistischen Recherchereise „Belarus Votes“. Außerdem setzten wir uns für aus politischen Gründen exmatrikulierte Studierende ein und werteten alltägliche Repressionen in den Monaten nach der Aufhebung der EU-Sanktionen gegen Belarus aus.

In unserem aktuellen Projekt, das bereits seit Herbst 2018 läuft, arbeiten wir zusammen mit dem Belarussischen Helsinki Komitee und Humana Constanta an einem Bericht zur menschenrechtlichen Situation von Obdachlosen in Belarus. Die Ergebnisse werden im Rahmen einer Medienreise im Frühjahr 2019 der belarussischen und internationalen Öffentlichkeit präsentiert.

Graphic Novel dokumentiert Menschenrechtsverletzungen im Donbas

Seit der Annexion der Krim durch Russland und dem Ausbruch des Krieges im Donbas haben auch in der Ukraine die Menschenrechtsverletzungen zugenommen – gerade in den Konfliktgebieten. Deshalb engagiert sich Libereco seit dem Frühjahr 2014 auch in der Ukraine. Anfangs sammelten wir vor allem Spenden für humanitäre Projekte, daraus erwuchsen feste Partnerschaften in der Menschenrechtsarbeit und -bildung.

Unser zentrales Projekt in der Menschenrechtsarbeit zur Ukraine ist die Graphic Novel „Crossroads“, die wir 2017 gemeinsam mit Menschenrechts- und zivilgesellschaftlichen Aktivist*innen und Künstler*innen erarbeitet haben.

Die Graphic Novel bildet Angst und Not, Entscheidungen und Hoffnungen der Menschen in der Ostukraine ab. Seit Mitte 2018 entwickeln wir nun Konzepte, das Buch in der Menschenrechtsbildung einzusetzen. Wir werden es in Kürze neben den bereits existierenden Versionen auf Ukrainisch und Russisch auch auf Englisch und Deutsch übersetzen und verbreiten.

100.000 Euro gespendet seit 2009

Seit der Gründung des Vereins im Jahr 2009 sammeln wir Spenden, um Menschenrechtsverletzungen zu dokumentieren und bekannt zu machen, um so den politischen Druck auf die verantwortlichen Regierungen zu erhöhen. Außerdem helfen wir notleidenden Menschen in Belarus und in der Ukraine.

In den vergangenen zehn Jahren konnten wir fast 100.000 Euro sammeln – viele Spender unterstützen uns und unsere Arbeit seit Anbeginn und regelmäßig. Ihnen gebührt ein besonderer Dank!

Doch was ist mit diesem Geld passiert? Wir haben damit Menschenrechtsorganisationen sowie Obdachlosenprojekte in Belarus unterstützt, vor allem aber Notdürftigen in der Ukraine geholfen: Die in Deutschland, der Niederlande und der Schweiz gesammelten Gelder kamen unter anderem verwundeten Zivilisten des Euromaidans in Kiew und den Kriegsgebeiten im Osten der Ukraine zugute.

Dazu konnte unsere ukrainische Partnerorganisation Vostok SOS Dank der von Libereco gesammelten Spenden einen Krankenwagen kaufen, eine Schule sowie mehrere Kinder- und Jugendzentren renovieren und mit Technik, Lernmaterialien und Spielzeug ausstatten. Außerdem konnten wir seit 2014 zusammen mit Vostok SOS hunderte Menschen – vor allem Alte, Kranke und Familien mit Kindern – mit Hilfsgütern versorgen, die in Gebieten nahe der nach wie vor aktiven Front leben.

Angesichts der vielen kleinen und einiger größerer Erfolge in den vergangenen zehn Jahre darf eines nicht vergessen werden: Nahezu die gesamte Arbeit von Libereco geschieht ehrenamtlich – sei es in der Freizeit, am Wochenende oder spät am Abend. Besonderer Dank gebührt daher nicht nur allen ehemaligen und derzeit aktiven Mitgliedern, sondern auch unseren Wegbegleitern und Unterstützern, die Libereco all die Jahre vertraut und uns motiviert haben, auch manchmal ungewöhnliche Wege zu gehen.

Wir werden das Jubiläum im Frühsommer in Berlin gebührend feiern – und wollen dabei mit möglichst vielen Freund*innen, Helfer*innen, Partnerorganisationen und Gästen anstoßen! Über den Termin werden wir rechtzeitig in unserem Newsletter informieren, den Sie – falls Sie es noch nicht getan haben sollten – hier abonnieren können.

10 Jahre Libereco in Zahlen:

  1. Derzeit haben wir 40 Mitglieder in Deutschland, der Schweiz und in den Niederlanden.
  2. Seit 2009 haben wir acht große Projekte abgeschlossen, zwei weitere laufen derzeit noch.
  3. Insgesamt haben wir mit fast 20 unterschiedlichen Partnerorganisationen aus Deutschland, Belarus, der Ukraine, Polen und Litauen zusammengearbeitet.
  4. Darüber hinaus hatten wir internationale Kooperationen, Kampagnen und Petitionen mit NGOs aus den USA, Schweden, Tschechien, Norwegen, Südafrika, der Slowakei und der Schweiz.
  5. Derzeit sind Libereco-Gruppen vor allem in Berlin, München und Zürich aktiv.
  6. In den zehn Jahren unseres Bestehens wurde unsere Webseite über 660.000 Mal angeklickt.
  7. Seit 2014 ist Libereco Mitglied bei MitOst, seit 2017 sind wir Teil der Civic Solidarity Platform.

10 Jahre Libereco in Bildern:

Bonn, 2009: Das Gründungstreffen.

Zürich, 2010: Protestaktionen gegen die massiven staatlichen Repressalien und die Niederschlagung einer Großdemonstration nach der belarussischen Präsidentschaftswahl.

Dresden, 2011: Libereco zeigt auf dem Evangelischen Kirchentag eine Ausstellung zur Menschenrechtslage in Belarus.

Brüssel, 2012: Insgesamt 15 Vertreter*innen von Libereco, Gefangenes Wort, dem Bund für Soziale Verteidigung und der Berliner Belarus-Gruppe von Amnesty International sowie der belarussische politische Aktivist und Journalist Aliaksandr Atroschtschenkow und Siarhiej Mackiewitsch, Vorsitzender des Assembly of NGOs of Belarus, besuchten das EU-Parlament. Dort sprachen wir unter anderem mit Filip Kaczmarek (Bildmitte), dem damaligen Vorsitzenden der EU-Delegation für die Beziehungen zu Belarus.

Hamburg, 2013: Zusammen mit der Grünen-Politikerin Katrin Göring-Eckardt forderte Libereco auf dem Evangelischen Kirchentag die Freilassung aller politischen Gefangenen in Belarus.

Leipzig, 2014: Zweitägiger Workshop zu Menschenrechten in Belarus und Ukraine.

Minsk, 2015: Teilnehmende von „Belarus Votes“, einer von Libereco mitorganisierten journalistischen Wahlbeobachtung zur belarussischen Präsidentschaftswahl 2015, am Minsker Hauptbahnhof.

Berlin, 2016: Vorbereitungsworkshop zur zweiten Ausgabe von „Belarus Votes“ im Vorfeld der belarussischen Parlamentswahl 2016.

Kiew, 2017: Treffen der Graphic-Novel-Projektgruppe. Libereco-Projektleiterin und Historikerin Imke Hansen erklärt, warum die Graphic Novel eine Möglichkeit darstellt, Menschenrechtsverletzungen darzustellen, die allein mit Worten nur schwer zu fassen sind.

Schtschastja, 2018: Zwei Mitglieder des Libereco-Vorstands reisten in die Ostukraine, um dort die Kontakte zu unserer Partnerorganisation Vostok SOS zu intensivieren. Und, um Ideen für künftige Projekte zu entwickeln und die Arbeit im Osten der Ukraine unmittelbar kennenzulernen – wie hier im Gespräch mit zwei Bewohnerinnen des Städtchens Schtschastja, das direkt an der Front liegt.