Teaching repression a lesson: International campaign supports Belarusian students to get back into university

Today, Belarusian Human Rights Center Viasna together with Belarusian Students Association (BSA) and German-Swiss organization Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights launched an international campaign “Teaching repression a lesson” in support of expelled students in Belarus. Through an online petition on the campaigning platform Change.org they call upon the Belarusian Minister of Education and rectors of key Belarusian universities to readmit students that were expelled for political reasons.

Over the past two years at least twelve students were expelled from their universities for political reasons. In February and March 2017 many people joined nationwide peaceful protests demanding to end a tax on unemployed people in Belarus (Presidential Decree No. 3). Within four weeks more than 1000 protesters, journalists and opposition activists were detained across the country – among them many students. After the students were released from prison, several of them were expelled from their universities. Although other reasons were given for the forced removal from their studies, the expulsions were undeniably connected to these students’ activities in civil society and politics or their participation in peaceful protests.

Ales Bialiatski, Chairman of Human Rights Center Viasna, states:

“The authoritarian regime in Belarus controls the social activity of students. The repression affects the most active students who participate in the democratic public and political life of the country. Violation of students’ rights in Belarus are systematic and aimed at keeping the students underfoot and in fear. They are part of the general system of suppressing rights and freedoms in Belarus. They constitute a blatant disregard of international obligations in the sphere of human rights.”

The campaign “Teaching repression a lesson” aims to allow the twelve students Alena Dzianiščyc, Darja Jakuš, Arciom Kavaloŭ, Alena Kisiel, Jury Łukaševič, Piotr Markiełaŭ, Ihar Nelipovič, Viačasłaŭ Panasiuk, Nastaśsia Piluhina, Marya Rabkova, Chryścijan Šynkievič and Hleb Vajkul to resume their studies. The campaign features several of these students in short video testimonials, which will be released in the course of the campaign.

In May 2015, Belarus entered the European Higher Education Area (EHEA) to join the Bologna Process, which aims at aligning standards between European higher education institutions. By expelling students for political reasons Belarus not only violates fundamental students’ rights, that are integral part of the Bologna Process, but also fails to abide by its commitments to implement a roadmap to reform higher education.

Viasna, BSA and Libereco urge the Belarusian Minister of Education and all Belarusian universities to stop expelling students for their activities in civil society or politics and to guarantee the rights to freedom of expression, assembly and association to all students in Belarus without facing the risk of being arrested or expelled from their studies.

Contact:
Belarusian Students’ Association: zbsstydent@gmail.com (Sasha Kuzmich)
Human Rights Center Viasna: zmicier.salauyou@gmail.com (Zmicier Salauyou)
Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights: media@lphr.org (Jan-Henrik Wiebe)

Background information:
The petition “Teaching repression a lesson” can be found on change.org/BelarusStudents. The video testimonials and case descriptions of the expelled students featured in this campaign can be found on www.lphr.org/belarus. Photos are available at a google drive folder: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1fP_EyfZ_kdWE1lV0drMmw4TjA.

Der Repression eine Lektion erteilen: Internationale Kampagne hilft belarussischen Studenten, an die Uni zurückzukehren

Heute hat das belarussische Menschenrechtszentrum Viasna zusammen mit der Belarussischen Studentenvereinigung (BSA) und der deutsch-schweizerischen Organisation Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights die internationale Kampagne „Der Repression eine Lektion erteilen“ lanciert, um exmatrikulierte Studenten in Belarus zu unterstützen. Mit einer Online-Petition auf der Kampagnenplattform Change.org rufen sie den belarussischen Bildungsminister und die Rektoren bedeutender belarussischer Universitäten dazu auf, die aus politischen Gründen exmatrikulierten Studenten wieder zum Studium zuzulassen.

Während der vergangenen zwei Jahre wurden mindestens 12 Studenten aus politischen Gründen von ihren Universitäten verwiesen. Im Februar und März 2017 nahmen landesweit viele Menschen an friedlichen Protesten gegen eine Steuer auf Arbeitslosigkeit teil (Präsidentendekret Nr. 3). Binnen vier Wochen wurden landesweit mehr als 1000 Demonstranten, Journalisten und oppositionelle Aktivisten festgenommen, unter ihnen viele Studenten. Als sie wieder aus der Haft freikamen, wurden einige der Studenten von ihren Unis verwiesen. Auch wenn die Universitäten andere Gründe für die Zwangsexmatrikulationen angeben, stehen diese zweifelsfrei mit dem zivilgesellschaftlichen oder politischen Engagement der Studenten oder deren Teilnahme an friedlichen Protesten in Verbindung.

Ales Bialiatski, Vorsitzender des Menschenrechtszentrums Viasna, stellt fest:

“Das autoritäre Regime in Belarus kontrolliert die sozialen Aktivitäten der Studenten. Die Repression betrifft die aktivsten Studenten, die sich in der demokratischen Öffentlichkeit und im politischen Leben des Landes engagieren. Die Verletzung der Rechte der Studenten in Belarus erfolgt systematisch und zielt darauf ab, diese Studenten in ihren Aktivitäten nieder zu halten und in Angst zu versetzen. Dies ist Teil des allgemeinen Systems der Unterdrückung von Rechten und Freiheiten in Belarus und stellt eine offensichtliche Missachtung internationaler Verpflichtungen im Bereich der Menschenrechte dar.”

Die Kampagne „Der Repression eine Lektion erteilen“ hat zum Ziel, den zwölf Studenten Alena Dzianiščyc, Darja Jakuš, Arciom Kavaloŭ, Alena Kisiel, Jury Łukaševič, Piotr Markiełaŭ, Ihar Nelipovič, Viačasłaŭ Panasiuk, Nastaśsia Piluhina, Marya Rabkova, Chryścijan Šynkievič und Hleb Vajkul die Wiederaufnahme ihres Studiums zu ermöglichen. Im Rahmen der Kampagne werden mehrere Videos veröffentlicht, in denen einige der betroffenen Studenten über ihre Situation berichten.

Im Mai 2015 trat Belarus dem Europäischen Hochschulraum (EHEA) bei, um sich dem Bologna-Prozess anzuschließen – dem Bestreben, Hochschulabschlüsse in Europa hinsichtlich Standards und Qualität vergleichbar zu machen. Indem Belarus Studenten aus politischen Gründen exmatrikuliert, verletzt das Land nicht nur die für den Bologna-Prozess grundlegenden Rechte der Studenten, sondern bricht auch seine Zusage, einen Fahrplan zur Hochschulreform umzusetzen.

Viasna, BSA und Libereco fordern den belarussischen Bildungsminister und alle belarussischen Universitäten dazu auf, Studenten nicht länger wegen ihres zivilgesellschaftlichen oder politischen Engagements zu exmatrikulieren. Außerdem müssen die Rechte auf freie Meinungsäußerung, auf Versammlungs- und auf Vereinigungsfreiheit allen Studenten in Belarus garantiert werden, ohne dass diese Gefahr laufen, verhaftet oder exmatrikuliert zu werden.

Kontakt:
Belarusian Students’ Association: zbsstydent@gmail.com (Sasha Kuzmich)
Human Rights Center Viasna: zmicier.salauyou@gmail.com (Zmicier Salauyou)
Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights: media@lphr.org (Jan-Henrik Wiebe)

Hintergrundinformationen:
Die Petition „Der Repression eine Lektion erteilen“ ist unter change.org/BelarusStudents zu finden. Die Videos und Fallbeschreibungen der exmatrikulierten Studenten sind unter www.lphr.org/belarus veröffentlicht. Bildmaterial steht in einem Ordner auf Google Drive zur Verfügung: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B1fP_EyfZ_kdWE1lV0drMmw4TjA.