How was Libereco founded?

In February 2009 in Bonn, we, former and partly still active members of Amnesty International founded Libereco. Since the beginning of the 2000s, personal contacts have been established with people who have been active in Belarus’ civil society in various forms. We have intensified these contacts together with new connections, and have expanded them through cooperation with local partner organisations.

What does “Libereco” mean?

The word “Libereco” has its origin in the international auxiliary language Esperanto, which Ludwik Lejzer Zamenhof developed and then introduced in 1887 as an easy and flexible language that would serve as a universal second language to foster peace and international understanding.

Libereco means freedom. Libereco stands for what we believe in and campaign for.

Why is Libereco committed to human rights in Belarus and Ukraine?

In Belarus, human rights violations continue to be an instrument of the government. It is the only country in Europe that retains the death penalty, journalists are unable to report freely, and demonstrations are sometimes brutally suppressed. Moreover, people who criticise the regime of President Alexander Lukashenko, who has ruled the country autocratically since 1994, not only risk their jobs or university places. They also face severe fines and long prison sentences.

It is true that the situation in neighbouring Ukraine is better in this respect. But since the outbreak of the war in Eastern Ukraine, human rights violations have also been increased there, especially in the conflict area. That is why Libereco has been active there since spring 2014. In the beginning we mainly collected donations for humanitarian projects, which resulted in strong partnerships in human rights work and education.

How does Libereco work?

Together with our partner organisations, we collect information about human rights violations and initiate projects, workshops and high-profile campaigns.

We make the public more aware of the problems in Belarus and Ukraine, train disseminators, and link organisations and individuals.

Together we protest against human rights violations and try to improve the human rights situation in the two countries in various ways. By doing so, we can help the victims of human rights violations and their relatives and show solidarity with them.

In Belarus we cooperate with the human rights centre “Viasna”, in Ukraine with “Vostok SOS”, “Postup”, “Tolerspace” and the human rights alliance “Justice for Peace in Donbas”.

All our members work as volunteers. Exceptions to this are larger projects with international partner organisations, where we try to reward the enormous amount of time spent appropriately.

We currently do not have an office. Active members live in Munich, Hamburg, Berlin, Frankfurt/Main, Nuremberg, Leipzig, Zurich and The Netherlands. We communicate via Skype and e-mail and meet several times a year to plan our activities and projects.

What does “Partnership” mean in our name?

We have been working with human rights organisations in Belarus since our foundation and with Ukrainian NGOs since 2014. Partnership means that we work together at eye level. Together we develop projects and initiatives that are adapted to the current needs in both countries.

In addition, together with organisations and initiatives from all over the world, we develop and coordinate joint actions and appeals in order to mobilize as many people as possible to act against human rights violations.

In which networks and organisations is Libereco represented?

Libereco is currently a member of the ”Civic Solidarity Platform” and of “MitOst e.V.”.

How can I support Libereco?

LLibereco is financed solely by membership fees and donations. Your donation enables us to document and publicise human rights violations in order to increase the political pressure on those responsible. In addition, we can use your donation to help people in need in Belarus and Ukraine.

As a member you are actively involved with us. If you are interested in a membership or cooperation, just contact us without any obligation.

Is Libereco bound to specific religious, political or ideological views?

Libereco is a non-religious and non-party organization. We are open to people of all religions and convictions. Libereco vehemently opposes any racist, sexist, homophobic, xenophobic and anti-Semitic expressions, and strongly dissociates itself from all organisations which give voice to any such opinions.

Who can become a member of Libereco?

Everyone who is at least 16 years old and agrees to the objectives of Libereco can become a member. If you are under 16 years old, membership is possible with your parents’ approval.

You can become a member of the German association of Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights e.V. or of the Swiss association Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights.

Members pay an annual membership fee and are able to participate actively in the publication of new objectives, actions and the further development of Libereco. Members have voting rights in the general meeting of members.

As a member you have the possibility of working actively in Libereco. But active participation is not a necessary requirement for membership.

From which organisations and donors has Libereco received money?

In addition to numerous private donors, we have received project-related funding from the following governmental and non-governmental organisations (see also Completed Projects):

    • German Ministry of Foreign Affairs (ÖPR Programme) 
    • German Federal Agency for Civic Education
    • Human Rights Fund of the Embassy of the Netherlands in Poland
    • International Visegrad Fund
    • MitOst
    • Foundation for German-Polish Cooperation
    • Foundation “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future”
    • The German Marshall Fund of the United States
What privacy policy does Libereco follow?

You can view our privacy policy here.

FAQ

Wie ist Libereco entstanden?

Wir, ehemalige und teils nach wie vor aktive Mitglieder von Amnesty International, haben Libereco im Februar 2009 in Bonn gegründet. Bereits seit Anfang der 2000er Jahre entstanden ausgehend von persönlichen Verbindungen Kontakte zu Menschen, die in der belarussischen Zivilgesellschaft in den unterschiedlichsten Formen aktiv waren. Diese Verbindungen haben wir zusammen mit neuen Mitstreiter*innen intensiviert und durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Partnerorganisationen vor Ort ausgebaut.

Was bedeutet „Libereco“?

Das Wort „Libereco“ entstammt der Kunstsprache Esperanto. Ludwik Lejzer Zamenhof präsentierte sie 1887 der Weltöffentlichkeit, um damit eine Möglichkeit für eine klare und einfache Verständigung zwischen allen Völkern zu schaffen. Die deutsche Übersetzung von „Libereco“ lautet „Freiheit”.

Der Name ist unser Programm und Kernziel, er steht für das, wofür wir uns einsetzen.

Warum setzt sich Libereco für Menschenrechte in Belarus und der Ukraine ein?

In Belarus sind Menschenrechtsverletzungen nach wie vor ein Regierungsinstrument. Als einziges Land Europas vollstreckt es nach wie vor die Todesstrafe, Journalist*innen können nicht frei berichten undDemonstrationen werden teils brutal niedergeschlagen. Darüber hinaus riskieren Menschen, die sich kritisch gegen das Regime des seit 1994 autokratisch regierenden Präsidenten Alexander Lukaschenko äußern, nicht nur ihren Arbeit- oder Studienplatz. Ihnen drohen auch empfindliche Geld- und langjährige Haftstrafen.

Zwar ist die Situation in der benachbarten Ukraine besser. Doch seit dem Ausbruch des Krieges in der Ostukraine nehmen auch dort die Menschenrechtsverletzungen zu – insbesondere und gerade in den Konfliktgebieten. Deshalb engagiert sich Libereco seit dem Frühjahr 2014 auch dort. Anfangs sammelten wir vor allem Spenden für humanitären Projekte, daraus erwuchsen feste Partnerschaften in der Menschenrechtsarbeit und -bildung.

Wie arbeitet Libereco?

Zusammen mit unseren Partnerorganisationen sammeln wir Informationen über Menschenrechtsverletzung und initiieren Projekte, Workshops und öffentlichkeitswirksame Kampagnen.

Wir sensibilisieren die Öffentlichkeit für die Probleme in Belarus und der Ukraine, bilden Multiplikator*innen aus und vernetzen Organisationen und Einzelpersonen.

Gemeinsam protestieren wir gegen Menschenrechtsverletzungen und versuchen über verschiedene Wege die Menschenrechtslage in den beiden Ländern zu verbessern. Damit können wir den Opfern von Menschenrechtsverletzungen und ihren Angehörigen helfen und zeigen uns mit ihnen solidarisch.

In Belarus kooperieren wir unter anderem mit dem Menschenrechtszentrum „Viasna“, in der Ukraine mit “Vostok SOS”, „Postup“ und dem Menschenrechtsbündnis „Justice for Peace in Donbas“.

Alle unsere Mitglieder arbeiten ehrenamtlich. Ausnahmen bilden größere Projekte mit internationalen Partnerorganisationen, bei denen wir versuchen, die enormen zeitlichen Aufwände angemessen zu entlohnen.

Wir sind dezentral organisiert und haben derzeit kein Büro. Aktive Mitglieder leben in München, Hamburg, Berlin, Frankfurt/Main, Nürnberg, Leipzig, Zürich sowie in den Niederlanden. Wir kommunizieren via Skype und E-Mail und treffen uns mehrmals jährlich, um unsere Aktionen und Projekte zu planen.

Was bedeutet „Partnership“ in unserem Namen?

Seit Gründung arbeiten wir mit Menschenrechtsorganisationen in Belarus zusammen, seit 2014 mit NGOs in der Ukraine. Partnership bedeutet, dass wir auf Augenhöhe partnerschaftlich zusammenarbeiten. Gemeinsam entwickeln wir Projekte und Initiativen, die an die der jeweils aktuellen Bedürfnisse in den beiden Ländern angepasst sind.

Darüber hinaus entwickeln und koordinieren wir zusammen mit Organisationen und Initiativen aus aller Welt Aktionen und Appellaufrufe, um möglichst viele Menschen zum Handeln gegen Menschenrechtsverletzungen zu mobilisieren.

In welchen Netzwerken und Dachverbänden ist Libereco vertreten?

Libereco ist derzeit Mitglied der „Civic Solidarity Platform“ und bei „MitOst e.V.“.

Wie kann ich Libereco unterstützen?

Libereco finanziert sich allein durch Mitgliedsbeiträge und Spenden. Ihre Spende ermöglicht es uns, Menschenrechtsverletzungen zu dokumentieren und bekannt zu machen, um den politischen Druck auf die Verantwortlichen zu erhöhen. Außerdem können wir mit Ihrer Spende notleidenden Menschen in Belarus und in der Ukraine helfen.

Als Mitglied können Sie aktiv bei uns mitarbeiten. Wenn Sie sich für eine Mitgliedschaft oder Mitarbeit interessieren, nehmen Sie einfach unverbindlich mit uns Kontakt auf.

Ist Libereco an bestimmte Religionen, Parteien oder Weltanschauungen gebunden?

Libereco versteht sich als überkonfessionelle und überparteiliche Organisation. Wir sind offen für alle Menschen, unabhängig von Weltanschauung und Religion. Wir lehnen rassistische, sexistische, homophobe, fremdenfeindliche und antisemitische Äußerungen ab und grenzen uns von Organisationen, die solche Einstellungen teilen, scharf ab.

Wer kann Mitglied bei Libereco werden?

Mitglied kann jede Person ab 16 Jahren werden, die den Zielen von Libereco zustimmt. Eine Mitgliedschaft unter 16 Jahren ist möglich, wenn die Erziehungsberechtigten dem zustimmen.

Jede*r Interessierte kann dem deutschen Verein Libereco – Partnership for Libereco e.V. oder dem schweizerischen Verein Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights beitreten.

Jedes Mitglied zahlt einen jährlichen Mitgliedsbeitrag (50 Euro, 30 Euro ermäßigt) und kann über die Ziele, Aktionen und die weitere Entwicklung von Libereco mitentscheiden. Auf der jährlich einmal stattfindenden Mitgliederversammlung ist jedes Mitglied stimmberechtigt.

Zudem hat jedes Mitglied die Möglichkeit sich aktiv bei Libereco einzubringen – eine aktive Mitarbeit ist jedoch keine Voraussetzung für eine Mitgliedschaft bei uns.

Von welchen Organisationen und Spendern hat Libereco Geld erhalten?

Neben zahlreichen privaten Spendern haben wir bisher projektbezogene Fördermittel von folgenden staatlichen und nicht-staatlichen Akteuren erhalten (siehe auch Abgeschlossene Projekte):

  • Auswärtiges Amt
  • Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung
  • Human Rights Fund der Botschaft der Niederlande in Polen
  • International Visegrad Fund
  • MitOst
  • Stiftung für deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit
  • Stiftung “Erinnerung, Verantwortung und Zukunft”
  • The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Welche Datenschutzrichtlinien beachtet Libereco?

Unsere Datenschutzerklärung können Sie hier einsehen.