Creation of Libereco’s Patronage Committee

Marek Migalski, Member of the European Parliament, Marieluise Beck, Member of the German Bundestag, and Hans-Georg Wieck, former Head of the OSCE Advisory and Monitoring Group in Belarus, are representing the newly created Patronage Committee of Libereco.

Marek Migalski
Marek Migalski

Dr. Marek Migalski, Member of the European Parliament:

“As a member of the EU-Russia Parliamentary Cooperation Committee as well as of the Delegation for relations with Belarus I am deeply engaged in the human rights issue especially concerning post-communist area. In my work for the benefit of human rights I frequently cooperate with Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights. I highly value Libereco and admire its members for their commitment to fight against human rights abuses all over the world as well as for their willingness to stand up against violations of civil liberties. I also recently have joined Libereco’s Godparenthood campaign for political prisoners in Belarus and I became a godparent to a political prisoner Dzmitry Bandarenka. I do accept, with a great honor, the proposal to be a member of the Libereco Patronage Committee. In this way I would like to demonstrate my support for Libereco and its activity in the field of human rights. I truly hope that together we can make a difference.”

Marieluise Beck
Marieluise Beck

Marieluise Beck, Member of the German Bundestag:

“Since the 19th December 2010 the situation in Belarus has become very dramatic. People, partly very young, have been taken away into jails and camps of the Lukashenko Regime. There they are being humiliated and tortured. They need our help and this is why it is important that the support for the prisoners goes beyond just politics, but includes civil society groups too. Libereco helps to make sure that the prisoners won’t be forgotten. Therefore I support the initiative by Libereco for the political prisoners in Belarus.”

Hans-Georg Wieck
Hans-Georg Wieck

Dr. Hans-Georg Wieck, Head of the OSCE Advisory and Monitoring Group in Belarus 1997-2011:

“In the face of serious economical and financial difficulties and growing political unrest in the country, the sole way of the Lukashenka-Regime to hold on to their power, is through extensive use of violence and criminal prosecution. Peaceful protest and demonstrations are being cracked down by the KGB and special militia. Today, there is a very strong social and humanitarian solidarity coming from the citizens of Belarus, for the victims of persecution through the Lukashenka-Regime and its pursuers. Libereco is calling for solidarity with the people in Belarus who are fighting the pressure by the Lukashenka-Regime. Several public figures have joined the Godparenthood campaign for families in Belarus, who are being persecuted and whose livelihoods are endangered. A Patronage Committee for this campaign would enable better coordination in a bigger political and humanitarian framework. I gladly join the Patronage Committee in order to assist the struggle for freedom in this endangered boarder country of the European Union.”

Gründung des Libereco-Patronatskomitees

Marek Migalski, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments, Marieluise Beck, Mitglied des deutsches Bundestages, und Hans-Georg Wieck, ehemaliger Leiter der OSZE Berater- und Beobachtergruppe in Belarus, bilden das neu gegründete Patronatskomitee von Libereco.

Marek Migalski
Marek Migalski

Dr. Marek Migalski, Mitglied des Europäischen Parlaments:

„Als Mitglied, sowohl des parlamentarischen Kooperations-Komitees EU-Russland als auch der Delegation für die Beziehungen mit Belarus, engagiere ich mich stark in Menschenrechtsfragen, insbesondere in den postkommunistischen Ländern. In meiner Arbeit für die Achtung der Menschenrechte arbeite ich oft mit Libereco zusammen. Ich schätze Libereco sehr und bewundere deren Mitglieder dafür, dass sie sich weltweit gegen Menschenrechtsverletzungen engagieren und den Willen haben, gegen Verletzungen von bürgerlichen Freiheiten aufzustehen. Außerdem beteilige ich mich in letzter Zeit an der Patenschaftskampagne von Libereco für politische Gefangene in Belarus und bin Pate des politischen Gefangenen Dzmitry Bandarenka geworden. Es ist mir eine große Ehre, Mitglied des Patronatskomitees von Libereco zu werden. Auf diesem Wege möchte ich meine Unterstützung von Libereco und deren Aktivitäten auf dem Gebiet der Menschenrechte zum Ausdruck bringen. Ich hoffe wahrhaftig, dass wir zusammen etwas bewegen können.“

Marieluise Beck
Marieluise Beck

Marieluise Beck, Mitglied des Deutschen Bundestages:

„Die Situation in Belarus ist seit dem 19.Dezember 2010 dramatisch. Zum Teil sitzen blutjunge Menschen in Zuchthäusern und Lagern des Lukaschenko-Regimes ein. Dort werden sie erniedrigt und gequält. Sie brauchen unsere Hilfe und deswegen ist es wichtig, dass sich nicht nur die Politik, sondern auch zivilgesellschaftliche Gruppen für die Gefangenen engagieren. Libereco hilft dabei, dass die Inhaftierten nicht in Vergessenheit geraten. Deshalb unterstütze ich den Einsatz von Libereco für die politischen Häftlinge in Belarus.“

Hans-Georg Wieck
Hans-Georg Wieck

Dr. Hans-Georg Wieck, Leiter der OSZE Berater- und Beobachtergruppe in Belarus 1997-2001:

„Angesichts ernster wirtschaftlicher und finanzieller Schwierigkeiten und zunehmender politischer Unruhe im Lande behauptet sich das Lukaschenko-Regime heute nur noch im Wege rigoroser Gewaltanwendung und mit dem Mittel strafrechtlicher Verfolgung. Friedlicher Protest und unaufdringliche Demonstrationen enden in den Fängen des KGB und der Spezialmilizen. Es gibt heute in Belarus sehr viel soziale und humanitär geprägte Bürger-Solidarität mit den Opfern der gewaltsamen Verfolgung durch das Lukaschenko-Regime und seine Häscher. Die Nichtregierungsorganisation Libereco hat zur Solidarität mit den Bürgern und Bürgerinnen in Belarus aufgerufen, die sich dem Druck von Lukaschenko widersetzen. Mehrere Persönlichkeiten des öffentlichen Lebens haben die Patenschaft für Familien in Belarus übernommen, die vom System verfolgt werden und deren Lebensgrundlagen in Gefahr sind. Mit einem Patronats-Komitee der Vereinigung sollen diese Aktivitäten koordiniert und in einen größeren politischen und humanitären Rahmen gestellt werden. Gerne wirke ich in diesem Patronatskomitee mit, um das Anliegen der Freiheit in diesem bedrohten Nachbarland der Europäischen Union zu fördern.“