Human Rights Education with Graphic Novels – The Graphic Novel Project in Berlin

In Donbas, fighting has been going on for four years. The war in Eastern Ukraine has considerably changed the lives of the people there. To convey the difficult situation throughout Ukraine and in other countries, methods and media must be developed in order to reach different target groups. From 10-14 May, the project group met various actors involved in political and historical education work in Berlin, to get inspiration on the topic.

The conflict has polarized the population of Ukraine. It has divided neighbourhoods, friends and families. We talked to Dana Jirous and Inga Luther, representatives of the organisation OWEN – mobile Akademie für Geschlechterdemokratie und Friedensförderung e.V. (mobile academy for gender democracy and the promotion of peace), about the possibilities for and limits of dialogue in conflict. Their experiences in the Caucasus and Ukraine show that cultural projects can decrease mistrust and prepare the ground for dialogue in society.

Building up local structures is essential for successful cultural projects – even more so in conflict-prone regions. Alona Karavai, programme manager at MitOst e.V., presented different working styles and projects that their organisation had developed, aiming not only at regional support but also at the international networking of local actors.

The presentation of the Federal Agency for Civic Education by communication scientist Prof. Dr. Gernot Wolfram evoked discussions within the group. The Agency is financially supported by the state and managed by Members of the Parliament, which might conflict principles of independent and critical education and information work. Today in Ukraine it is barely imaginable that a state institution could foster critical discussions about their own history and politics.

With Georg Pirker, a representative of the Arbeitskreis deutscher Bildungsstätten e.V. (Working group of German educational institutions), we discussed the role of human rights education in German youth education activities. As Secretary of the DARE network (Democracy and Human Rights Education in Europe), Pirker advocates establishing human rights education in Europe as a autonomous field of non-formal education.Not all countries have human rights education so closely tied to historical and political education and to the topic of the Holocaust as in Germany.

A training session at „7x jung“ offered a practical approach to innovative teaching methods. This learning space aims to initiate a reflection of the National Socialist past and at the same time critical thinking about exclusion, identity and courage. The biographic moments of the exhibition in particular offered inspiration for our participants.

“The Search” is a graphic novel developed by the Anne Frank Centre in Berlin together with the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam especially for education purposes. Director Patrick Siegele gave the group some very interesting insights into the development process of the novel. Using the novel in school has shown that students get better access to the topic of National Socialism and develop a far deeper interest in it – we hope to generate same effects regarding the conflict in Ukraine, the topic of our novel.

The last day of the meeting was dedicated to the composition of our graphic novel. Under the guidance of Nicole Köstler, dramatic adviser and scriptwriter, participants developed the characters of their stories and learned how to create arcs of suspense. Reducing the rich narrative interviews to short, illustrated stories was a challenge in most cases, but one which the students mastered successfully in the end.

The project is financed by the German Foreign Office and supported by the Ukraine-Calling-Programme of the Europa-University Viadrina, the Robert Bosch Foundation and the German Association of Researchers of Ukraine.

Project manager: Imke Hansen, imke.hansen[at]lphr.org
Coordination: Anne Reis, anne.reis[at]lphr.org

Project partner:

 

 

 

Donors:

Menschenrechtsbildung mit Graphic Novels – Das Graphic Novel Projekt in Berlin

Seit vier Jahren wird im Donbas gekämpft. Der Krieg hat den Osten der Ukraine und das Leben der Bevölkerung stark verändert. Um dies in der ganzen Ukraine und über diese hinaus zu vermitteln, müssen Medien und Methoden entwickelt werden, die verschiedene Zielgruppen ansprechen. Die Projektgruppe traf sich vom 10. bis zum 14. Mai 2017 in Berlin mit verschiedenen Akteuren der politischen und historischen Bildungsarbeit, um sich dafür Anregungen zu holen.

Der Konflikt hat die Bevölkerung in der Ukraine polarisiert. Die Gräben verlaufen durch Nachbarschaften, Freundeskreise und Familien. Über die Möglichkeiten und Grenzen der Dialogförderung sprachen wir mit Dana Jirous und Inga Luther von der Organisation OWEN – mobile Akademie für Geschlechterdemokratie und Friedensförderung e.V.. Ihre Erfahrungen aus dem Kaukasus und der Ukraine zeigten, dass niederschwellige Kulturprojekte den Boden für gesellschaftlichen Dialog bereiten können.

Für den Erfolg von Kulturprojekten ist es entscheidend, dass an bereits bestehende lokale Strukturen angeknüpft wird. Dies gilt umso mehr für Regionen, die von Konflikt geprägt sind. Die Programmmanagerin Alona Karavai berichtete von der Arbeitsweise und den unterschiedlichen Projekten von MitOst e.V., die nicht auf regionale Förderung, sondern auch internationale Vernetzung lokaler Akteure ausgerichtet ist.

Die Vorstellung der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung durch den Kommunikationswissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Gernot Wolfram rief Diskussionen in der Gruppe hervor. Dass die Arbeit der Bundeszentrale nicht nur staatlich finanziert, sondern auch von einem Kuratorium aus Mitgliedern des Bundestags gesteuert wird, schien dem Gedanken einer unabhängigen und kritischen Bildungs- und Informationsarbeit entgegen zu stehen. In der Ukraine ist es momentan kaum vorstellbar, dass eine staatliche Institution die kritische Auseinandersetzung mit der eigenen Geschichte und Politik fördert.

Mit Georg Pirker vom Arbeitskreis deutscher Bildungsstätten e.V. sprachen wir über die Rolle der Menschenrechtsbildung in der deutschen Jugendarbeit. Als Sekretär des DARE Netzwerks (Democracy and Human Rights Education in Europe), engagiert Pirker sich dafür, Menschenrechtsbildung in Europa als eigenes Lernfeld in der non-formalen Bildung zu etablieren. Nicht in allen europäischen Ländern ist Menschenrechtsbildung so eng an die historisch-politische Bildungsarbeit und die Vermittlung des Nationalsozialismus angebunden wie in Deutschland.

Eine Multiplikatorenfortbildung bei „7x jung“ bot einen praktischen Zugang zu innovativen Vermittlungsmethoden. Der Lernort will zur aktiven Auseinandersetzung mit der NS-Vergangenheit und gleichzeitig zum Nachdenken über Ausgrenzung, Identität und Zivilcourage anregen. Besonders die biographischen Momente der Ausstellung boten Anknüpfungsmöglichkeiten für unsere Projektarbeit.

„Die Suche“ ist eine Graphic Novel, die das Anne Frank Zentrum in Berlin gemeinsam mit dem Anne Frank Haus in Amsterdam speziell für die Bildungsarbeit entwickelt hat. Der Direktor des Zentrums Patrick Siegele gab der Gruppe spannende Einblicke in den Entstehungsprozess. Der Einsatz der Novel in Schulen hat gezeigt, dass Schüler durch dieses Medium einen besseren Zugang zum Thema Nationalsozialismus und mehr weiterführendes Interesse daran entwickeln – Effekte, die wir uns bezüglich des Themas Konflikt auch von unserer Novel erhoffen.

Der letzte Tag galt der Arbeit am Aufbau unserer Graphic Novel. Unter Anleitung der Dramaturgin und Drehbuchautorin Nicole Köstler entwickelten die Teilnehmenden die Charaktere ihrer Geschichten und übten den Aufbau von Spannungsbögen. Die reichhaltigen biographischen Interviews auf eine kurze in Bildern erzählbare Geschichte zu reduzieren, stellte in vielen Fällen eine Herausforderung dar, die die Teilnehmenden schließlich mit Erfolg meisterten.

Das Projekt wird vom Auswärtigen Amt finanziert und durch das Ukraine-Calling-Programm, das ein gemeinsames Projekt der Europa-Universität Viadrina, der Robert-Bosch-Stiftung und der Deutschen Assoziation der Ukrainisten e.V. ist, begleitet.

Projektverantwortliche: Imke Hansen, imke.hansen[at]lphr.org
Projektkoordinatorin: Anne Reis, anne.reis[at]lphr.org

Projektpartner:

 

 

 

Förderer: