Libereco goes to Eastern Ukraine

At the end of July, two members of the Libereco board travelled to Eastern Ukraine. The aim of the trip was to intensify contacts with our partner organisation Vostok SOS, to develop ideas for future projects and to get to know their work in Eastern Ukraine directly. We conducted three workshops in the region. Together with Ukrainian helpers and international volunteers we also distributed humanitarian aid in the so-called grey zone over the course of six days. We also visited the children’s centres that we have been able to support thanks to your donations over the past months.

Background: The "grey zone" refers to areas in the immediate vicinity of the front line that is formally under Ukrainian control. However, sometimes both armies are positioned there. Even more than four years after the outbreak of the war, shelling continues to strike in areas of the grey zone. The Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) counted up to 80 explosions alone in one day in the zone. Civilians are still dying and, according to the UN, over 3000 civilians have died since the outbreak of the war in spring 2014. It is estimated that between 7000 and 9000 civilians have also been injured.

The situation for children in the “grey zone” remains particularly difficult. According to the UN, more than 500,000 children and teenagers live in the conflict zone. Many of them are traumatised, have sleep and development disorders, and additionally suffer from the stress of their parents.

With your donations it has been possible to support children and young people who live directly on the frontline in Eastern Ukraine. Together with local initiatives and committed parents, Vostok SOS has founded several children and youth centres. In these safe and creative spaces, children and teenagers can exchange ideas, develop, play and laugh together.

During our visit to children’s and youth centres, for which we collected donations last December, Libereco members Imke and Marco were able to talk to children, parents and educators and get an idea of their situation.

A workshop for children and youth in Rubizhne.
A workshop on the graphic novel created by Libereco in Shchastya.
Volunteers and employees of Vostok SOS deliver humanitarian aid in Shchastya.
Libereco member Imke speaks with residents of Shchastya.
Two members of Vostok SOS check the completeness of donated goods before they are handed over to a day care centre in Zolote. The toys, learning aids and sport equipment were purchased from donations collected by Libereco.
Children from Zolote inspect the new toys, learning aids and sport equipment.
The joy is easily visibly.
A children’s and youth club in Zolote, run by volunteers, gets an electric stove with a grill, board games and beanbags, which were purchased from donations collected by Libereco.
We visited a dance and music performance in the youth club “Mayak” (“Lighthouse”) in Toshkivka. Because of the war, the village is largely cut off from the regional infrastructure. With donations collected by Libereco, the music system was renewed and a projector was bought.
Delivery of humanitarian aid in Stanytsia Luhanska. This is the only place of official transition to the separatist’s self-proclaimed People’s Republic of Luhansk.
Delivery of humanitarian aid in Zaytsevo, a small village directly at the front line. Because of the war, Zaytsevo has been cut off from the regional infrastructure.
Out of the 54 people living in Zaytsevo, only five have a job. Once a month a special bus arrives, which enables the inhabitants to buy goods.

A longer report about the current situation in the Donbas and how the people live in the “grey zone” can be found here.

Libereco reist in die Ostukraine

Zwei Mitglieder des Libereco-Vorstands sind Ende Juli in die Ostukraine gereist. Ziel der Reise war es, die Kontakte zu unserer Partnerorganisation Vostok SOS zu intensivieren, Ideen für künftige Projekte zu entwickeln und die Arbeit im Osten der Ukraine unmittelbar kennenzulernen. Gemeinsam führten wir drei Workshops durch und teilten an insgesamt sechs Tagen zusammen mit ukrainischen Helfer*innen und internationalen Freiwilligen Hilfsgüter in der so genannten Grauen Zone aus. Wir besuchten dabei auch die Kinderzentren, die wir dank Ihrer Spenden in den vergangenen Monaten unterstützen konnten.

Hintergrund: Die „Graue Zone“ bezeichnet die Gebiete in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Frontlinie, die formal unter ukrainischer Kontrolle stehen. Faktisch sind es aber mitunter Positionen beider Armeen. Selbst mehr als vier Jahre nach dem Ausbruch des Krieges schlagen in der Grauen Zone fortwährend Geschosse ein, mitunter kommt es zu 80 Explosionen allein an einem Tag, wie aus den jüngsten Berichten der Organisation für Sicherheit und Zusammenarbeit in Europa hervorgeht. Dabei sterben auch immer wieder Zivilisten, laut UN sind seit dem Ausbruch des Krieges im Frühjahr 2014 bereits über 3000 Zivilisten ums Leben gekommen. Es wird geschätzt, dass darüber hinaus zwischen 7000 bis 9000 Zivilisten verletzt wurden.

Besonders schwierig ist weiterhin die Situation für Kinder in der „Grauen Zone“. Nach Angaben der UN leben mehr als 500.000 Kinder und Jugendliche im Konfliktgebiet. Viele von ihnen sind traumatisiert, haben Schlaf- und Entwicklungsstörungen und leiden zusätzlich unter dem Stress der Eltern.

Mit Ihren Spendengeldern ist es gelungen, Kinder und Jugendliche zu unterstützen, die direkt an der umkämpften Frontlinie in der Ost-Ukraine leben. Zusammen mit lokalen Initiativen und engagierten Eltern schuf Vostok SOS mehrere Kinder- und Jugendzentren. In diesen sicheren und kreativen Räume können Kinder und Jugendlichen sich auszutauschen, sich entwickeln, gemeinsam spielen und lachen.

Bei unsrem Besuch der Kinder- und Jugendzentren, für die wir im vergangenen Dezember Spenden gesammelt haben, konnten die Libereco-Mitglieder Imke und Marco mit Kindern, Eltern und Erziehern sprechen und sich ein Bild von ihrer Lage machen.

Kinder- und Jugendworkshop in Rubischne.
Workshop mit der von Libereco erstellten Graphic Novel in Schtschastja.
Freiwillige und Mitarbeiter von Vostok SOS liefern humanitäre Hilfsgüter in Schtschastja aus.
Libereco-Mitglied Imke im Gespräch mit Bewohnern aus Schtschastja.
Zwei Mitarbeiter von Vostok SOS überprüfen die Vollständigkeit der Spendengüter bevor diese einem Kindertagesstätte in Solotoe übergeben werden. Die Spielsachen, Lernhilfen und Sportgeräte wurden von Spendengeldern angeschafft, die Libereco gesammelt hat.
Kinder aus Solotoe begutachten die neuen Spielsachen, Lernhilfen und Sportgeräte.
Die Freude ist sichtbar groß.
Ein von Freiwilligen betriebener Kinder- und Jugendklub in Solotoe bekommt einen Elektroherd mit Grill, Gesellschaftsspiele sowie Sitzsäcke, die mit Hilfe von Spendengeldern angeschafft wurden, die Libereco gesammelt hat.
Wir besuchen eine Tanz- und Musik-Aufführung im Kinder- und Jugendclub „Majak“ („Leuchtturm“) in Toschkowka. Das Dorf ist durch den Krieg von der regionalen Infrastruktur weitgehend abgeschnitten. Mit von Libereco gesammelten Spendengeldern wurde die Musikanlage erneuert und ein Beamer angeschafft.
Eine humanitäre Hilfslieferung in Staniza Luganskaja, dem einzigen offiziellem Übergang zu dem von den Seperatisten ausgerufenen selbsternannten Volksrepublik Luhansk.
Hilfsgüterverteilung in Sajtzewo, einem kleinen Dorf direkt an der Konfliktlinie, welches durch den Frontverlauf von seiner bisherigen Infrastruktur abgeschnitten wurde.
Von 54 Menschen in Sajtzewo haben nur fünf eine Arbeit. Einmal im Monat kommt ein Bus, der es den Einwohnern ermöglicht, einzukaufen.

Ein längere Reportage über die derzeitige Situation im Donbas und wie die Menschen in der Grauen Zone leben findet ihr hier.