Homeless people and the right to housing in Belarus

Download the analysis
Download the report (PDF)
Groundbreaking report presents violations and obstacles impeding the realization of homeless people’s rights in Belarus.

The report, “Homeless people and the right to housing in Belarus,” was prepared by the Belarusian Helsinki Committee in collaboration with Human Constanta (Belarus) and Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights (Switzerland). The joint initiative aims to study and draw attention to the problems experienced by homeless people in Belarus in order to improve their condition and call for the fulfilment of their rights. The report is the first substantial document addressing these issues.

It analyzes state policies surrounding homelessness in Belarus and describes the limitations preventing the homeless from fulfilling their right to shelter and housing. It criticizes the insufficient attention given to the problem of homelessness and recommends that the government adopt an all-encompassing program for preventing, reducing, and mitigating homelessness.

  1. Download the report in English (PDF)
  2. Download the report in Russian (PDF)

In 12 recommendations, the three human rights organizations summarize what measures the Belarusian authorities should take to fulfil the human rights of homeless people.

“As a conclusion of the events during the Ice Hockey World Championship 2014 documented in the report, we call on the Belarusian authorities to prevent the repetition of mass arrests, administrative arrests and removal of homeless people from the city in connection with the June 2019 European Games in Minsk”, states Lars Bünger, Chairman of the Swiss Branch of Libereco.

The report is based on a study of Belarusian legislation and shows a lack of reliable statistics measuring the scale of the problem of homelessness in Belarus. This contributes to the neglect of this issue in the country. Furthermore, the lack of policy itself lends to the persecution of independent initiatives helping the homeless.

In face-to-face interviews made from November 2018 to January 2019 in Minsk and two regional cities, homeless people stressed the practices which restrict their access to public spaces. Several cases are documented in the report. They show how homeless people must risk their health when they are forced to seek out less secure places to spend the night.

Furthermore, the report presents an analysis of the procedures required for securing social housing, finding that in its current form, homeless people are excluded from this benefit. Existing rules governing evictions do not provide for alternative housing and do not account for the high risk of homelessness among evictees who find themselves in a vulnerable financial state.

The report also addresses limited access to justice in eviction cases, which is an additional risk factor for evictees who have been rendered homeless.

All findings are complemented by an online map of homeless assistance services and several videos introducing civil society activists working for the homeless.

Obdachlosigkeit und das Recht auf Wohnen in Belarus

Download the analysis
Download des Berichts (Englisch, PDF)
Erstmals zeigt ein Bericht grundlegend auf, wie die Rechte von Obdachlosen in Belarus verletzt oder deren Ausübung behindert werden.

Der Bericht „Obdachlose und das Recht auf Wohnen in Belarus“ ist vom Belarussischen Helsinki-Komitee in Zusammenarbeit mit Human Constanta (Belarus) und Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights (Schweiz) erstellt worden. Ziel der Initiative ist es, die Probleme von Obdachlosen in Belarus zu erfassen und Aufmerksamkeit auf Betroffene zu lenken, um so ihre Situation zu verbessern und die Einhaltung ihrer Rechte einzufordern. Der Bericht stellt das erste umfassende Dokument dar, das sich dieser Problematik widmet.

Der Bericht analysiert die staatliche Politik der belarussischen Behörden beim Thema Obdachlosigkeit. Er zeigt die Grenzen auf, denen sich Obdachlose in der Ausübung ihrer Rechte auf Obdach und Wohnen gegenübersehen. Die Studie kritisiert die unzureichende Aufmerksamkeit für das Problem der Obdachlosigkeit und empfiehlt der belarussischen Regierung, ein umfassendes Programm zur Vorbeugung, Verringerung und Minderung von Obdachlosigkeit einzuführen.

  1. Download des Berichts auf Englisch (PDF)
  2. Download des Berichts auf Russisch (PDF)

Die drei Menschenrechtsorganisationen fassen in zwölf Empfehlungen zusammen, welche Maßnahmen die belarussischen Behörden ergreifen sollten, um Obdachlosen die Wahrnehmung ihrer Menschenrechte zu ermöglichen.

„Als eine Schlussfolgerung der im Bericht dokumentierten Ereignisse während der Eishockey-Weltmeisterschaft 2014 fordern wir die belarussischen Behörden dazu auf, die Wiederholung von Massenverhaftungen, administrativen Festnahmen und des Entfernens von Obdachlosen aus der Stadt im Zusammenhang mit den Europäischen Spielen im Juni 2019 in Minsk zu verhindern“, sagt Lars Bünger, Präsident des Schweizer Zweigs von Libereco.

Der Bericht basiert auf einer Auswertung der belarussischen Gesetzgebung. Er zeigt einen Mangel an zuverlässigen Statistiken über das Ausmass von Obdachlosigkeit in Belarus, was zu einer Vernachlässigung des Problems in dem osteuropäischen Land beiträgt. Ausserdem führt die fehlende Politik in diesem Bereich zu einer Verfolgung unabhängiger Obdachlosen-Hilfsinitiativen.

In persönlichen Interviews, die von November 2018 bis Januar 2019 in Minsk und zwei weiteren Städten durchgeführt wurden, schilderten Obdachlose zudem, wie ihr Zugang zum öffentlichem Raum eingeschränkt wird. Im Bericht sind mehrere solcher Fälle dokumentiert, die aufzeigen, wie Obdachlose beispielsweise ihre Gesundheit riskieren, wenn sie gezwungen werden nach weniger sicheren Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten zu suchen.

Der Bericht analysiert ausserdem die Verfahren für die Bereitstellung von Sozialwohnungen und stellt fest, dass Obdachlose von diesen Verfahren in ihrer jetzigen Form ausgeschlossen sind. Denn die bestehenden gesetzlichen Bestimmungen im Falle von Zwangsräumungen sehen keine Bereitstellung einer alternativen Unterkunft vor. Das und der nur eingeschränkte Zugang zur Justiz in diesen Fällen verschärfen das Risiko, in einer schwierigen finanziellen Situation obdachlos zu werden.

In Ergänzung zum Bericht wurde auch eine Online-Karte mit Hilfsangeboten für Obdachlose sowie mehrere Videos veröffentlicht, in denen zivilgesellschaftliche Aktivisten vorgestellt werden, die sich für Obdachlose engagieren.