About Libereco

Since it was founded in 2009, Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights – has been fighting for respect for civil and political human rights.

For us these are fundamental rights for all, such as freedom of expression, assembly, association, press, conscience and religion. In justification for this, we refer to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (1948) and the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights (1966), where these inalienable human rights are guaranteed. We focus our work on Belarus. In addition to this, we provide humanitarian aid to the deserving poor and people in need. Here, in addition to Belarus, we direct our relief projects also to Ukraine.

In Belarus we campaign for people who are persecuted for political reasons, people who are victims of repression by the dictatorial regime of President Alexander Lukashenka because they are engaged in politics or civil society. We become involved if individuals are persecuted for putting forward their opinions, demonstrating peacefully or founding a NGO. Our support and engagement is directed to the victims of state-run persecution and supression.

If people are being persecuted elsewhere, it’s easy to persuade ourselves that it’s nothing to do with us. But if we take responsibility for our basic values such as freedom, democracy and the rule of law seriously, we have to support those at risk because they share our common understanding of these values.

Everyone can get involved, and Libereco most certainly gets involved. The more people get active, the louder becomes our voice. With every supporter we can encourage the persecuted ones who are living in repressive states and give them hope.

By demanding closer attention, putting pressure on people in power, and becoming engaged, we can improve the situation of victims of human rights violations. There are already many of us who have decided not to turn a blind eye to human rights violations. For us, inactivity is not an option.

Über Libereco

Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights setzt sich seit seiner Gründung 2009 für die Achtung der politisch-bürgerlichen Menschenrechte ein. Für uns sind das elementare Rechte für alle, darunter zählen Meinungs-, Versammlungs-, Vereinigungs-, Presse-, Gewissens- und Religionsfreiheit. Dabei berufen wir uns auf die Allgemeine Erklärung der Menschenrechte von 1948 und den Internationalen Pakt über bürgerliche und politische Rechte von 1966, in denen diese unveräußerlichen Menschenrechte garantiert werden. Der Fokus unserer Arbeit liegt auf Belarus (Weißrussland). Zudem leistet Libereco humanitäre Hilfe für Bedürftige und unverschuldet in Not geratene Menschen. Hierbei konzentrieren wir unsere Hilfsprojekte neben Belarus auch auf die Ukraine.

In Belarus setzen wir uns für politisch Verfolgte ein, für Menschen, die Repressionen des dortigen diktatorischen Regimes unter Präsident Alexander Lukaschenko ausgesetzt sind, weil sie sich politisch oder zivilgesellschaftlich engagieren. Wir mischen uns ein, wenn Menschen deshalb verfolgt werden, weil sie ihre Meinung frei äußern, friedlich demonstrieren oder eine NGO gründen wollen. Diesen Opfern staatlicher Verfolgung und Unterdrückung gelten unsere Unterstützung und unser Engagement.

Wenn Menschen verfolgt werden, dürfen wir nicht so tun, als ginge uns das nichts an. Wenn wir unsere Werte von Freiheit, Demokratie und Rechtstaatlichkeit ernst nehmen wollen, dann müssen wir denjenigen beistehen, die unsere Werte teilen und deswegen unter Repressionen leiden.

Ein jeder kann sich einmischen und Libereco mischt sich ein. Je mehr Menschen uns dabei unterstützen, desto lauter wird unsere Stimme sein, um politisch Verfolgten in repressiven Staaten Mut zu machen und ihnen Hoffnung zu schenken. Durch unser Hinsehen, unseren Druck auf Verantwortliche und unser Engagement kann die Situation der Opfer von Menschenrechtsverletzungen verbessert werden. Viele Menschen hoffen darauf, dass wir nicht wegsehen. Nichtstun ist für uns keine Option.