Ambulance delivered to Trokhizbenka

Around one year after our donation campaign began, we have finally reached our target: In December 2016, our partner organisation Vostok SOS handed over a fully-equipped ambulance from Germany to the medical station in Trokhizbenka, Donbass. This means an enormous improvement in medical care for several villages next to the frontline. We would like to thank all the donors who made this possible!


(Video is in Russian, only German subtitles provided)

The village of Triokhizbenka in Eastern Ukraine is located only a few hundred metres from the frontline. The small village near Luhansk is under Ukrainian control, but only a river separates it from the territory controlled by Russian-backed separatist forces. Trokhizbenka and the surroundings have been the scene of heavy fighting, evidenced by artillery fire damage. Recently, on 31 January 2017, the school building was damaged by mortar fire.

Most of the remaining inhabitants of Triokhizbenka are elderly and ill. Their medical care has deteriorated considerably since 2014, when the fighting started. Triokhizbenka and the surrounding villages are cut off from their former county town, many roads are damaged, and it is more than one hour’s drive to the next proper hospital.

At least there is a medical point in Trokhizbenka, although it lacked its own vehicle until now. Doctor’s assistant Liliya Shvets, who has been responsible for around 2000 inhabitants in Trokhizbenka and nearby villages for many years now, was using her own scooter to get to patients for a considerable time. Transporting patients was clearly impossible.

Temporarily, a car was rented, but the contract expired in December 2016. Doctor’s assistant Liliya Shvets is all the more grateful for the medical point now owning its own vehicle: “The area we work in is exceptionally large, 52 kilometres along the river Severskii Donets. The villages are separated from each other. Thus it actually was not possible to provide medical care without a car.”

Libereco transferred 3400 Euro of donations to our Eastern Ukrainian partner organisation Vostok SOS to buy and repair the second-hand ambulance. The money was collected in the course of our 2015 and 2016 donation campaigns.

Übergabe des Krankenwagens für Trjochisbenka

Rund ein Jahr nach Beginn unserer Spendenkampagne ist das Ziel endlich erreicht: Im Dezember 2016 übergab unsere Partnerorganisation Vostok SOS der Krankenstation von Trjochisbenka im Donbass einen voll ausgestatteten Krankenwagen aus Deutschland. Damit verbessert sich die medizinische Versorgung mehrer Dörfer im Frontgebiet erheblich. Wir danken allen Spenderinnen und Spendern, die dies möglich gemacht haben!

Nur wenige hundert Meter von der Frontlinie in der Ostukraine entfernt liegt Trjochisbenka. Das kleine Örtchen nahe Luhansk befindet sich auf der ukrainisch kontrollierten Seite. Bloß ein Fluss trennt es von dem Gebiet, das die von Russland unterstützten Kämpfer besetzt halten. Der Ort war lange umkämpft und ist von Artilleriebeschuss gezeichnet. Zuletzt wurde am 31. Januar 2016 durch einen Mörserangriff das Schulgebäude beschädigt.

Die meisten Dorfbewohner, die in Trjochisbenka zurückblieben, sind alt und krank. Ihre medizinische Versorgung hat sich seit Beginn der Kämpfe im Jahr 2014 erheblich verschlechtert: Trjochisbenka und die umliegenden Dörfer sind von ihrer früheren Kreisstadt abgeschnitten, viele Straßen beschädigt, das nächste richtige Krankenhaus ist über eine Fahrstunde entfernt.

In Trjochisbenka gibt es immerhin eine Krankenstation, diese verfügte bisher aber über kein eigenes Fahrzeug. Hilfsärztin Lilija Schwez, die nun schon seit Jahren für die medizinische Erstbetreuung von rund 2000 Menschen in Trjochisbenka und den umliegenden Dörfern zuständig ist, fuhr daher lange auf ihrem privaten Motorroller zu den Patienten. An Krankentransporte war nicht zu denken.

Zeitweilig konnte auch ein Wagen angemietet werden, der Vertrag lief aber im Dezember 2016 aus. Umso dankbarer ist Hilfsärztin Lilija Schwez, dass die Krankenstation nun einen eigenen Krankenwagen besitzt: „Unser Einsatzgebiet ist außerordentlich groß, 52 Kilometer entlang des Flusses Sewerskij Donez, also der Waffenstillstandslinie. Die Dörfer sind von einander getrennt. Deswegen war hier ohne Auto eigentlich keine medizinische Versorgung möglich.“

Für Kauf und Instandsetzung des gebrauchten Krankenwagens überwies Libereco Spenden in Höhe von insgesamt 3400 Euro an Vostok SOS, unsere Partnerorganisation in der Ostukraine. Die Gelder kamen bei unseren Spendenaktionen 2015 und 2016 zusammen.