Ukraine: How we could help so far

04
Postup provides aid for people in need in Eastern Ukraine, like here in Krymskoe

With the donations collected so far we supported the following projects.

The activists of the Postup Human Rights Center had to flee Lugansk after separatists stormed the provincial administration building on April 29 – fearing prosecution, hostage-taking or beatings. Now based in Kiev Postup launched a program called “Vostok SOS” (East-SOS). It helps those who fled South-Eastern Ukraine for the West of the country. In those cities throughout the South-East that were re-taken from the separatists many homes lay in ruins. Here Postup focuses on the support of mothers with small children, elderly and handicapped people and provides them with food and medication. Now that winter has begun the situation has worsened and the needy also have to be supported with blankets and heaters, as well as medication against viral-infections and fever. So far we were able to support the work of the Postup Human Rights Center with 4550 Euros.

Yurii Krabchuk in the hospital

The Cologne-based initiative “Deutschland für die Ukraine” (Germany for Ukraine) took care of the wounded who received treatment in a German army hospital in Koblenz. Among them was Yurii Krabchuk (36 years). He was hit in arms and legs by snipers on the Maidan. The surgery in Germany saved his left leg from amputation. Subsequently he could receive further rehabilitation treatment in Cyprus. Back in Ukraine “Deutschland für die Ukraine” supports women who became widows as an affect of the war in the South-East. After the death of their husbands they find themselves alone with their children or other relatives in need of care – having no money, no power and no financial government assistance. So far we were able to support “Deutschland für die Ukraine” with 2650 Euros.

The Narodnyi Hospital in Kiew treats civilians wounded in the war. Among them are Alexandr Yevgenievich Barvinov (52 years) and Vladimir Fedorovich Ulanov (66 years). Both residents of Lugansk were wounded by rocket and mortar fire and could be evacuated to Kiev. We were able to contribute 2000 Euros for the necessary surgeries and further treatment in the Narodnyi Hospital.

During the Maidan-protests the Lutheran Church St. Cathrine catered demonstrators with food and medication. The church also housed a field hospital to treat the wounded. We were able to support the church with 1300 Euros.

Ukraine: Wie wir bis jetzt helfen konnten

04
Postup leistet Hilfe für Bedürftige im Osten der Ukraine, wie hier in Krymskoe
Mit den bisher gesammelten Spenden haben wir diese Projekte unterstützt:

Die Aktivisten des Postup Human Rights Center mussten nach der Erstürmung der Lugansker Gebietsverwaltung durch Separatisten am 29. April 2014 aus der Stadt fliehen, da ihnen Verfolgung, Geiselnahme und Misshandlung drohten. Von Kiew aus organisiert Postup nun mit der Aktion „Vostok SOS“ (Osten SOS) praktische Hilfe für Menschen, die aus dem Südosten der Ukraine in westliche Landesteile fliehen mussten. In den Orten im Südosten der Ukraine, aus denen die Separatisten vertrieben wurden, sind viele Häuser zerstört. Postup hilft hier vor allem Müttern mit kleinen Kindern sowie älteren und behinderten Menschen und versorgt diese mit Lebensmitteln und Medikamenten. Mit Beginn des Winters wird die Situation schwieriger und die Bedürftigen müssen nun auch mit Decken, Heizgeräten sowie Antivirus- und Fiebermedikamenten versorgt werden. Bisher konnten wir die Arbeit des Postup Human Rights Center mit 4550 Euro unterstützen.

Yurii Krabchuk im Krankenhaus
Die Kölner Initiative „Deutschland für die Ukraine“ hat sich um verwundete Ukrainer gekümmert, die am Bundeswehrkrankenhaus in Koblenz behandelt wurden. Unter ihnen war Yurii Krabchuk (36 Jahre), der auf dem Maidan von Scharfschützen in Armen und Beinen getroffen wurde. Durch die Operation in Deutschland wurde die Amputation seines linken Beins verhindert. Anschliessend konnte ihm eine Rehabilitation auf Zypern ermöglicht werden. Vor Ort in der Ukraine unterstützt „Deutschland für die Ukraine“ Frauen finanziell, die durch den Krieg im Südosten des Landes zu Witwen geworden sind. Denn durch den Tod ihrer Männer stehen diese Witwen nun allein da mit ihren Kindern oder mit pflegebedürftigen Familienmitgliedern – mittellos, machtlos und ohne finanzielle Hilfe vom Staat. Die Arbeit von „Deutschland für die Ukraine“ haben wir mit bisher 2650 Euro unterstützt.

Das Narodnyi Hospital in Kiew behandelt kriegsverletzte Zivilisten, unter ihnen Alexandr Yevgenievich Barvinov (52 Jahre) und Vladimir Fedorovich Ulanov (66 Jahre). Die beiden Männer aus Lugansk wurden durch Raketen- und Mörserbeschuss verletzt und konnten nach Kiew evakuiert werden. Wir konnten zur Finanzierung notwendiger Operationen und ihrer weiteren Behandlung im Narodnyi Hospital mit Spenden von 2000 Euro beitragen.

Während der Proteste auf dem Euromaidan versorgte die deutsche evangelisch-lutherische Kirche St. Katharina in Kiew die Demonstranten mit Lebensmitteln und Medikamenten. In den Räumen der Kirche wurde ausserdem ein Lazarett zur Versorgung Verwundeter eingerichtet. Wir haben diese Arbeit mit Spenden von 1300 Euro unterstützt.