Empowerment for Dialogue

To contribute to the reinforcement of peaceful communication and respect for human rights in conflict zones, it is crucial to support civil society activists who are ready to engage in dialogue. Our training- and mentoring-programe in five cities of the district of Luhansk supported locals in restoring trust and communication across different lines of conflict within society. The trauma-sensitive training sessions It facilitated networking and organizing, self-reflection and empathy, coping with stress, non-violent communication, and self-empowerment.

Links: coming
Project duration: March to December 2019
Partner organisation: Vostok SOS
Sponsor: German Foreign Office
Total funding sum: 80,000 Euro

Exhibition „WAR NEXT DOOR“ & German translation of the graphic novel “Crossroads”

Within the framework of a German-Ukrainian encounter project, we developed an interactive exhibition together with young adults. The exhibition invites visitors to let the pictures from the graphic novel “Crossroads” affect on themselves, to get in touch with the protagonists of the stories and to get about the situation in Eastern Ukraine.

On May 23, 2019 the vernissage of the exhibition and the presentation of the German translation of the graphic novel “Crossroads” took place at the Mohr-Villa in Munich. The format, designed as a touring exhibition, consists of eleven magnetic roll-ups with nine different themes and can be booked on request.

Links: coming
Project duration: March to June 2019
Partner organisation: TolerSpace
Sponsor: Foundation “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future” (programme „MEET UP! Deutsch-ukrainische Jugendbegegnungen“)
Total funding sum: 26,700 Euro

Homeless people and the right to housing in Belarus

As part of a joint initiative, the report “Homeless people and the right to housing in Belarus” was prepared by the Belarusian Helsinki Committee in cooperation with Human Constanta (Belarus) and Libereco (Switzerland). The report is the first comprehensive document to show how the rights of homeless people in Belarus are being violated or their exercise is being hindered.

To complement the report, an online map of assistance to the homeless and several videos presenting civil society activists working for the homeless have been published.

Links: to the project website and an online map (in Russian), to th report, to the videos
Project duration: July 2018 to May 2019
Partner organisations: Belarusian Helsinki Committee, Human Constanta
Sponsors: The German Marshall Fund of the United States, Human Rights Fund of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Total funding sum: 15,000 Euro

Deutsch-ukrainische Multiplikator*innen-Schulung

Together with the Ukrainian educational centre TolerSpace, we invited ten young adults to a German-Ukrainian training course for multipliers. The events took place in Berlin, Hadiach and Kyiv in autumn and winter 2018.

The programme was divided into two parts: The participants got to know methods of human rights education, biographical approaches and approaches of visualization. The focus was on a graphic novel and how it can be used in an educational framework. We developed a didactic guideline for the graphic novel “Crossroads”, which we developed in 2017.

Project duration: September to December 2018
Partner organisation: TolerSpace
Sponsor: Stiftung Foundation “Remembrance, Responsibility and Future” (programme „MEET UP! Deutsch-ukrainische Jugendbegegnungen“)
Total funding sum: 17,000 Euro

Narrating the Conflict – graphic novel “Crossroads”.

In 2017, a team of civil society activists from Ukraine created a comic strip about the war in Eastern Ukraine. Artist Serhij Zacharov and illustrator Sophia Runova translated the stories artistically.

The stories are based on biographical interviews with nine different people whose everyday life was and is disturbed by the war in different ways. They deal with fears and hardships, decisions and hopes. They show what a military conflict can mean for people, how it sets steps and changes lives. The graphic novel was published in Ukrainian and Russian at the end of 2017.

Project duration: March to December 2017
Partner organisations: Koalition „Justice for Peace in Donbas“, East-Ukrainian Center for Civic Initiatives
Sponsor: German Foreign Office
Total funding sum: 62,500 Euro

Teaching Repression a Lesson

Toegether with the Belarusian Human Rights Center Viasna and the Belarusian Students Association (BSA) we launched the international campaign “Teaching repression a lesson” in support of expelled students in Belarus. Through online petitions, presentation and videos filmed by Libereco in Belarus we call upon the Belarusian Minister of Education and rectors of key Belarusian universities to readmit students that were expelled for political reasons.

Links: to the campaign, to the videos
Project duration: April 2017 to December 2017
Partner organisations: Belarusian Students’ Association, Viasna Human Rights Centre
Sponsor: MitOst
Total funding sum: 600 Euro

Belarus Votes 2016

As we did for the presidential elections in 2015, we organised a journalistic election observation project for the Belarusian parliamentary election held in September 2016. This time, a three-member editorial board guided 12 young journalists from Belarus, Poland and Germany during the project in Minsk. Before the research and writing in Belarus, we held 10 days of preparatory workshops in Berlin and Vilnius. On the ground in Belarus, we covered the election and the political situation for a period of ten days.

Link: belarus-votes.lphr.org
Project duration: June 2016 to November 2016
Partner organisations: Fundacja Wspólna Europa, StudAlliance, Election Observation: Theory & Practice
Sponsors: Foundation for Polish-German Cooperation, German Federal Agency for Civic Education, The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Total funding sum: 23,000 Euro

Analysis: 100 Days of Belarusian Rule of Law

With our in depth analysis, we showed hat repressions in Belarus increased since the EU lifted its sanctions. Friday 3 June 2016 marked 100 days since the EU abandoned its sanctions against Belarus, suggesting that a process of liberalisation in the authoritarian state merits such a decision. However, on the basis of the monitoring of Belarusian organisation Viasna, we showed that the country is still far removed from rule of law and respect for human rights. Repression has become less visible, but in several respects the pressure on civil society has been heightened. The significantly increased use of fines against peaceful protesters and the state’s intensified application of the death penalty, contradict the European Union’s softening attitude towards Aliaksandr Lukashenka´s regime.

Links: The report and info-graphics, Download the PDF of analysis in English and in German
Project duration: February 2016 to September 2016
Partner organisations: Viasna Human Rights Centre
Sponsors and funding: none

Belarus Votes: 2015 Election Blog

In 2015, a 15-member editorial team reported about the presidential election in Belarus on the 11th of October. Therefore, students, young journalists and election observers from Belarus, Germany and Poland travelled to Belarus to deliver a wide range of reports and authentic stories from on the ground.

Link: belarus-votes.lphr.org/
Project duration: June 2015 to November 2015
Partner organisations: Fundacja Wspólna Europa, StudAlliance, Election Observation: Theory & Practice
Sponsors: Foundation for Polish-German Cooperation, The German Marshall Fund of the United States, MitOst, International Visegrad Fund
Total funding sum: 19,500 Euro

Belarus Barcamp

In March 2014, more than 70 young Belarusians and Germans met in Werningerode for a first-of-its-kind networking meeting. All participants had been actively involved in organizations and campaigns working on and in Belarus. The Belarus Barcamp 2014 offered thematic workshops, trainings and plenty of possibilities to exchange views on practical issues about voluntary work. The main goal of the Belarus Barcamp was to deepen existing partnerships as well as establishing an extensive network of Belarus-focussed initiatives in German-speaking countries. Moreover, partners developed new project ideas.

Project duration: June 2013 to April 2014
Partner organisations: several other German initiatives concerning Belarus
Sponsor: The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Total funding sum: 18,500 Euro

Exhibition and brochure “Human Rights and Civil Society in Belarus”

In cooperation with four partner organisations, Libereco has created a travelling exhibition and a brochure (in German, English and Russian), in which we presented the tenous situation of human rights in Belarus on the one hand and the existing manyfold actions and engagement oft the local civil society on the other hand. The exhibition took place amongst others in Dresden, Cologne, Bonn, Zurich and Gießen.

Download of the brochure: in German, in English, in Russian
Project duration: January 2011 to May 2013
Partner organisations: Amnesty International, Kultur Aktiv, Bund für Soziale Verteidigung, Deutsch-Belarussische Gesellschaft
Sponsor: The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Total funding sum: 8,000 Euro

Empowerment for Dialogue

Um in Konfliktgebieten Dialogbereitschaft, Kommunikationsfähigkeit und Vertrauen wiederaufzubauen, braucht es vor Ort Menschen, die sich zivilgesellschaftlich engagieren. Mit einem Trainings- und Mentoringprogramm haben wir Jugendliche und Erwachsene aus dem Gebiet Luhansk dabei unterstützt, sich selbst und andere besser zu verstehen, Bedürfnisse präziser wahrzunehmen und zu formulieren und damit stabile Netzwerke, Empathie und Entwicklung in eine polarisierte lokale Gesellschaft zu bringen. Die Trainings und Mentorings fanden in fünf Städten statt, von denen vier in unmittelbarer Nähe der Kontaktlinie liegen.

Links: folgt
Projektzeitraum: März bis Dezember 2019
Partnerorganisation: Vostok SOS
Förderer: Auswärtiges Amt der Bundesrepublik Deutschland
Gesamtfördersumme: 80.000 Euro

Ausstellung „WAR NEXT DOOR“ & deutsche Übersetzung der Graphic Novel „Crossroads“

Im Rahmen eines deutsch-ukrainischen Begegnungsprojekts erarbeiteten wir gemeinsam mit jungen Erwachsene eine interaktive Ausstellung. Die Ausstellung lädt Besucher*innen dazu ein, die Bilder aus der Graphic Novel „Crossroads“ auf sich wirken zu lassen, gedanklich in Kontakt mit den Protagonist*innen zu treten und sich über die Situation in der Ostukraine zu informieren.

Am 23. Mai 2019 fand die Vernissage der Ausstellung sowie die Präsentation der deutschen Übersetzung der Graphic Novel „Crossroads“ in der Mohr-Villa in München statt- Dort war die Ausstellung im Anschluss vier Wochen lang zu sehen. Das als Wanderausstellung konzipierte Format besteht aus elf Magnet-Roll-ups mit neun unterschiedlichen Themenbereichen und kann auf Anfrage gebucht werden.

Links: folgt
Projektzeitraum: März bis Juni 2019
Partnerorganisation: TolerSpace
Förderer: Stiftung „Erinnerung Verantwortung Zukunft“ (Programm „MEET UP! Deutsch-ukrainische Jugendbegegnungen“)
Gesamtfördersumme: 26.700 Euro

Obdachlosigkeit und das Recht auf Wohnen in Belarus

Im Rahmen einer gemeinsame Initiative wurde der Bericht „Obdachlose und das Recht auf Wohnen in Belarus“ vom Belarussischen Helsinki-Komitee in Zusammenarbeit mit Human Constanta (Belarus) und Libereco (Schweiz) erstellt. Der Bericht stellt das erste umfassende Dokument dar, das aufzeigt, wie die Rechte von Obdachlosen in Belarus verletzt oder deren Ausübung behindert wird.

Ergänzung zum Bericht wurden eine Online-Karte mit Hilfsangeboten für Obdachlose sowie mehrere Videos veröffentlicht, in denen zivilgesellschaftliche Aktivisten vorgestellt werden, die sich für Obdachlose engagieren.

Links: zur Projekt-Webseite und Online-Karte (auf Russisch), zum Bericht, zu den Videos
Projektzeitraum: Juli 2018 bis Mai 2019
Partnerorganisationen: Belarusian Helsinki Committee, Human Constanta
Förderer: The German Marshall Fund of the United States, Human Rights Fund of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands
Gesamtfördersumme: 15.000 Euro

Deutsch-ukrainische Multiplikator*innen-Schulung

Gemeinsam mit dem ukrainischen Bildungszentrum TolerSpace luden wir im Herbst und Winter 2018 zehn junge Erwachsene einer deutsch-ukrainischen Multiplikator*innen-Schulung in Berlin sowie in Hadjatsch und Kiew ein.

Den Teilnehmenden boten wir in der zweiteiligen Begegnung ein abwechslungsreiches Programm. Sie lernten Methoden der Menschenrechtsbildung, biographische Zugänge und Ansätze der Visualisierung kennen. Im Mittelpunkt stand das Medium Graphic Novel und wie man es in der Bildungsarbeit nutzen kann. Exemplarisch erarbeiteten wir eine didaktische Handreichung zur Nutzung der 2017 von uns erarbeiteten Graphic Novel „Crossroads“.

Projektzeitraum: September bis Dezember 2018
Partnerorganisationen: TolerSpace
Förderer: Stiftung „Erinnerung Verantwortung Zukunft“ (Programm „MEET UP! Deutsch-ukrainische Jugendbegegnungen“)
Gesamtfördersumme: 17.000 Euro

Den Konflikt erzählen – Graphic Novel „Crossroads“.

2017 erarbeitete ein Team aus zivilgesellschaftlichen Aktivist*innen aus der Ukraine einen Comicband über den militärischen Konflikt in der Ostukraine. Der Künstler Serhij Zacharov und die Illustratorin Sophia Runova setzten die Geschichten künstlerisch um.

Die Geschichten basieren auf biographischen Interviews mit neun verschiedenen Personen, deren Alltag auf unterschiedliche Art und Weise durch den Krieg gestört wurde und wird. Sie handeln von Ängsten und Nöten, Entscheidungen und Hoffnungen. Sie zeigen, was ein militärischer Konflikt für Menschen bedeuten kann, wie er Weichen neu stellt und Lebenswege verändert. Die Graphic Novel ist Ende 2017 auf Ukrainisch und Russisch erschienen.

Projektzeitraum: März bis Dezember 2017
Partnerorganisationen: Koalition „Justice for Peace in Donbas“, East-Ukrainian Center for Civic Initiatives
Förderer: Auswärtiges Amt
Gesamtfördersumme: 62.500 Euro

Teaching Repression a Lesson

Zusammen mit dem belarussischen Menschenrechtszentrum Viasna und der Belarussischen Studentenvereinigung (BSA) hatten wir die internationale Kampagne „Der Repression eine Lektion erteilen“ lanciert, um exmatrikulierte Studenten in Belarus zu unterstützen. Mit Online-Petitionen, Vorträgen und von Libereco in Belarus gedrehten Videos riefen wir den belarussischen Bildungsminister und die Rektoren wichtiger belarussischer Universitäten dazu auf, die aus politischen Gründen exmatrikulierten Studenten wieder zum Studium zuzulassen.

Links: zur Kampagne, zu den Videos
Projektzeitraum: April 2017 bis Dezember 2017
Partnerorganisationen: Belarusian Students’ Association, Viasna Human Rights Centre
Förderer: MitOst
Gesamtfördersumme: 600 Euro

Belarus Votes 2016

Wie schon bei der Präsidentschaftswahl 2015, so organisierten wir auch zur belarussischen Parlamentschaftswahl im September 2016 eine journalistische Wahlbeobachtung. Angeleitet von einem dreiköpfigen Redaktionsteam reisten wir diesmal mit 12 jungen JournalistInnen aus Polen, Deutschland und Belarus nach Minsk. Zuvor gab es Vorbereitungsworkshops in Berlin und Vilnius. Vor Ort berichteten wir zehn Tage lang über die Wahl und die politische Situation in Belarus.

Link: belarus-votes.lphr.org
Projektzeitraum: Juni 2016 bis November 2016
Partnerorganisationen: Fundacja Wspólna Europa, StudAlliance, Election Observation: Theory & Practice
Förderer: Stiftung für deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit, Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Gesamtfördersumme: 23.000 Euro

Analyse: 100 Tage Belarussische Rechtsstaatlichkeit

Unsere Analyse der 100 Tage nach der Aufhebung der EU-Sanktionen hatte gezeigt, dass Belarus noch repressiver als ein Jahr zuvor war. Im Februar 2016 hob die EU ihre Sanktionen gegenüber Belarus (Weißrussland) auf. Diese Maßnahme schien eine Reaktion auf den Liberalisierungskurs zu sein, auf dem der autoritäre Staat sich damals zu befinden schien. Unsere Analyse zeigte allerdings, dass sich der Druck auf die Zivilgesellschaft eher erhöht hatte. Ein 100-tägiges Monitoring ergab, dass die alltäglichen Repressionen nicht abgenommen haben, sondern lediglich weniger sichtbar geworden sind. Unsere Ergebnisse standen damit im Widerspruch zur sich öffnenden Haltung der EU gegenüber dem Land, dass Aliaksandr Lukashenka seit über 20 Jahren regiert.

Links: Der Bericht und Infografiken, Download der Analyse als PDF auf Englisch und auf Deutsch
Projektzeitraum: Februar 2016 bis September 2016
Partnerorganisation: Viasna Human Rights Centre
Förderung: keine

Belarus Votes: 2015 Election Blog

Im Jahr 2015 berichteten wir mit einem 15-köpfigen Redaktionsteam aus Belarus über die dortigen Präsidentschaftswahlen am 11. Oktober. Dazu machten sich Studierende, junge JournalistInnen und WahlbeobachterInnen aus Belarus, Polen und Deutschland auf den Weg, um vor Ort vielfältige Reportagen und authentische Geschichten zu liefern.

Link: belarus-votes.lphr.org
Projektzeitraum: Juni 2015 bis November 2015
Partnerorganisationen: Fundacja Wspólna Europa, StudAlliance, Election Observation: Theory & Practice
Förderer: Stiftung für deutsch-polnische Zusammenarbeit, The German Marshall Fund of the United States, MitOst, International Visegrad Fund
Gesamtfördersumme: 19.500 Euro

Belarus Barcamp

Im März 2014 trafen sich in Wernigerode mehr als 70 junge Aktive, etwa zur Hälfte aus Belarus und Deutschland, die in Organisationen und Initiativen zu und in Belarus aktiv sind. Das Barcamp war ein erstmalig stattfindendes Vernetzungstreffen. Beim Belarus Barcamp 2014 gab es sowohl thematische Workshops als auch Trainings und Austauschmöglichkeiten zu praktischen Fragen ehrenamtlichen Engagements. Das Ziel des Belarus Barcamps war die Vertiefung bestehender Partnerschaften sowie die Schaffung einer breiten Vernetzung bestehender Belarus-Initiativen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Außerdem Wurden neue partnerschaftliche Projektideen entwickelt.

Projektzeitraum: Juni 2013 bis April 2014
Partnerorganisationen: weitere Belarus-Initiativen aus Deutschland
Förderer: The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Gesamtfördersumme: 18.500 Euro

Ausstellung und Broschüre „Menschenrechte und Zivilgesellschaft in Belarus“

Zusammen mit vier Partnerorganisationen erstellte Libereco eine Wanderausstellung mit begleitender Broschüre (auf Deutsch, Englisch und Russisch), die sowohl die prekäre Menschenrechtslage in Belarus als auch die trotzdem bestehenden vielfältigen Aktivitäten und das Engagement der dortigen Zivilgesellschaft aufzeigte. Die Ausstellung wurde unter anderem in Dresden, Köln, Berlin, Zürich und Gießen gezeigt.

Download der Broschüre: auf Deutsch, auf Englisch, auf Russisch
Projektzeitraum: Januar 2011 bis Mai 2013
Partnerorganisationen: Amnesty International, Kultur Aktiv, Bund für Soziale Verteidigung, Deutsch-Belarussische Gesellschaft
Förderer: The German Marshall Fund of the United States
Gesamtfördersumme: 8.000 Euro