As part of Libereco’s solidarity campaign #WeStandBYyou, Aydan Özoguz (German Bundestag), Sergey Lagodinsky (European Parliament) and Claudia Müller (German Bundestag) have taken over a godparenthood for political prisoners in Belarus.

Aydan Özoğuz

Tatsiana Kaneuskaya is a local representative of the presidential candidate Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya in the city of Gomel. She was arrested after her house was searched the evening before and the morning of 7 August. She was charged under Article 293 of the Belarusian Criminal Code with “organising riots”.

Aydan Özoğuz, a member of the German Bundestag’s Committee on Foreign Affairs and Committee on Human Rights and Humanitarian Aid, has taken over the godparenthood for Tatsiana Kaneuskaya. She stated: “The right to freedom of assembly is a fundamental right that must be guaranteed. Tatsiana Kaneuskaya and many others arrested after peaceful protests in Belarus are also free to exercise this right. I therefore call for the recognition of the right to freedom of assembly and for the release of Tatsiana Kaneuskaya. #WeStandBYyou”

Sergey Lagodinsky

Maksim Znak is a lawyer and member of the presidium of the Coordination Council of the Belarusian opposition. He was arrested on 9 September and charged under Article 361 of the Belarusian Criminal Code with “incitement to acts harmful to the national security of the Republic of Belarus”.

Sergey Lagodinsky, First Deputy Chairman of the Legal Affairs Committee of the European Parliament, adopted Maxim Znak as a political prisoner and declared: “Maxim Znak, citizen and lawyer-colleague, I stand by you. Following Mr Znak’s kidnapping and disappearance on 9 September, I ask President Lukashenka and the authorities in Belarus to set Maxim Znak free without delay. All captured members of the coordination council like Maxim and many other baselessly imprisoned citizens in Belarus must be released immediately. Securing human and civil rights, free elections and full democracy are key demands of the peaceful opposition of Belarus.These demands have my full support.”

Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada is an activist of an anarchist movement and was arrested on 13 August during a peaceful protest. He was charged with “organising riots” under Article 293 of the Belarusian Criminal Code. His associate, Aliaksandr Frantskevich, reported that Hayeuski-Hanada was severely beaten by the KGB before his very eyes.

Claudia Müller

Claudia Müller, member of the Bundestag Committee on European Union Affairs, has taken over the godparenthood for Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada. She stated: “Freedom for Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada! I call on the ruling regime of Belarus to release political prisoner Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada immediately. Akikhiro was arrested by the Belarusian security apparatus during a demonstration a few days after the rigged presidential election on 13 August. He has thus been in detention for one month. According to reports from another prisoner, Akikhiro was mistreated by KGB staff in custody. His crime? At a demonstration to denounce the electoral fraud, which was clearly visible to the whole world. In recent weeks, Lukashenka has proven once again that he has lost all democratic legitimacy and can only hold on to power by force against his own people. Mr Lukashenka, release all political prisoners and resign!”

Im Rahmen der Solidaritätskampagne #WeStandBYyou von Libereco haben Aydan Özoguz (Bundestag, SPD), Sergey Lagodinsky (Europäisches Parlament, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen) und Claudia Müller (Bundestag, Bündnis 90/Die Grünen) Patenschaften für politische Gefangene in Belarus übernommen. 

Aydan Özoğuz

Tatsiana Kaneuskaya ist eine lokale Vertreterin der Präsidentschaftskandidatin Sviatlana Tsikhanouskaya in der Stadt Gomel. Sie wurde verhaftet, nachdem ihr Haus am Vorabend sowie am Morgen des 7. August durchsucht wurde. Sie wurde nach Art. 293 des belarussischen Strafgesetzbuches wegen der „Organisation von Unruhen“ angeklagt.

Aydan Özoğuz, Mitglied im Auswärtigen Ausschuss sowie im Ausschuss für Menschenrechte und Humanitäre Hilfe des Deutschen Bundestages, hat die Patenschaft für Tatsiana Kaneuskaya übernommen. Sie erklärt: “Das Recht zur Versammlungsfreiheit ist ein Grundrecht, das gewährleistet werden muss. Auch Tatsiana Kaneuskaya und viele andere, die nach friedlichen Protesten in Belarus verhaftet wurden, haben die Freiheit, dieses Recht zu nutzen. Ich plädiere daher für die Anerkennung des Rechts auf Versammlungsfreiheit und auf die Freilassung von Tatsiana Kaneuskaya. #WeStandBYyou”

Sergey Lagodinsky

Maksim Znak ist Jurist und Mitglied des Präsidiums des Koordinierungsrates der belarussischen Opposition. Er wurde am 9. September festgenommen und nach Art. 361 des belarussischen Strafgesetzbuches wegen “Aufrufen zu Handlungen, die der nationalen Sicherheit der Republik Belarus schaden”  angeklagt.

Sergey Lagodinsky, erster stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Rechtsausschusses des Europäischen Parlamentes, hat Maxim Znak als politischen Gefangenen adoptiert und erklärte: “Maxim Znak, Bürger und Anwaltskollege, ich stehe zu Ihnen. Im Anschluss an die Entführung und das Verschwinden von Maxim Znak am 9. September, fordere ich den Präsidenten Lukaschenko und die Behörden in Belarus dazu auf, Maxim Znak ohne Verzögerung freizulassen. Alle wie Maxim inhaftierten Mitglieder des Koordinationsrates und viele andere grundlos inhaftierte Bürger in Belarus müssen sofort freigelassen werden.  Die Garantie der Menschen- und Bürgerrechte, freier Wahlen und einer vollständigen Demokratie sind die zentralen Forderungen der friedlichen Opposition in Belarus. Diese Forderungen haben meine volle Unterstützung.“

Claudia Müller

Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada ist ein Aktivist einer anarchistischen Bewegung und wurde am 13. August während eines friedlichen Protestes verhaftet. Er wurde nach Art. 293 des belarussischen Strafgesetzbuches wegen der „Organisation von Unruhen“ angeklagt. Sein Mitstreiter, Aliaksandr Frantskevich, berichtete, dass Hayeuski-Hanada vor seinen Augen vom KGB schwer geschlagen wurde.

Claudia Müller, Mitglied im Bundestags-Ausschuss für die Angelegenheiten der Europäischen Union, hat die Patenschaft für Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada übernommen. Sie erklärt: „Freiheit für Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada! Ich fordere das herrschende Regime von Belarus auf, den politischen Gefangenen Akikhiro Hayeuski-Hanada sofort freizulassen. Akikhiro wurde wenige Tage nach der gefälschten Präsidentenwahl am 13. August bei einer Demonstration vom belarussischen Sicherheitsapparat festgenommen. Er sitzt somit seit einem Monat in Haft. Laut Berichten eines anderen Gefangenen wurde Akikhiro von Mitarbeitern des KGB in Haft misshandelt. Sein Verbrechen? Auf einer Demonstration den Wahlbetrug anzuprangern, der für die gesamte Welt klar zu sehen war. Lukashenko hat in den vergangenen Wochen einmal mehr bewiesen, dass er jegliche demokratische Legitimation verloren hat und sich nur noch mit Gewalt gegenüber dem eigenen Volk an der Macht halten kann. Herr Lukaschenko, lassen Sie alle politischen Gefangenen frei und treten Sie zurück!“