International companies such as Coca-Cola and Danone continue to place advertisements on state-controlled media in Russia and Belarus weeks after the outbreak of war. This helps finance the war propaganda of the Russian and Belarusian governments. Libereco demands that all Western companies immediately end their advertising in these media.

The Russian-Belarusian war of aggression on Ukraine has been going on for two months and countless atrocities committed by the Russian army are shocking the world. The war and war crimes are also made possible by the well-funded propaganda and anti-Ukrainian agitation in the state-controlled media of Russia and Belarus.

Without the lies and distortions spread by the Russian and Belarusian media, opposition to the war among the population and army of both countries would likely increase significantly.

Despite the targeted disinformation and war propaganda, several Western companies continue to advertise their products on Russian and Belarusian state television. Previously, more than 40 Western companies placed advertisements on Russian state television. after the outbreak of war, almost all of the well-known international corporations stopped broadcasting commercials.

Coca-Cola is the last global brand still advertising its beverages on Russian state television. Dr. Theiss Naturwaren is the last German company to continue advertising on Putin’s propaganda channels. In addition, monitoring in April revealed commercials for products from Goldman Sachs (USA), JP Morgan (USA), Servier (France), Lactalis (France), Ipsen (France), Prosus (Netherlands), Grindeks (Latvia) and Tele2 (Sweden).

Belarus plays an important role in the war

The importance of Belarus in Russia’s war against Ukraine is often underestimated. On the one hand, the country serves as a base of operations for many attacks on Ukraine; on the other hand, the constant threat of an invasion of the Belarusian army invasion in western Ukraine thins the front for Ukrainian defenders in the east of the country.

The Belarusian human rights center Viasna recently recognized several people as new political prisoners. Their offense was simply filming Russian military convoys in Belarus and posting the footage on Telegram channels. There are now well over 1100 people detained as political prisoners and hostages of the Lukashenko regime in Belarus.

Libereco monitored advertising by Western companies on Belarusian state television from July 2021 to February 2022. Following public pressure, several companies such as Henkel, Nestlé, JYSK, and Sandoz already stopped advertising on Lukashenko’s propaganda channels by the end of 2021.

Danone and Coca-Cola undermine peace efforts

In November 2021, Libereco still observed 27 Western companies with advertising placements on Belarusian state television, but this number has now dropped to only three Western companies. Danone has so far refused to stop its advertising, as has the U.S. pharmaceutical company Abbott. The pharmaceutical company Krewel-Meuselbach is the last German company that still has advertising broadcast on Belarusian television.

Lars Bünger, President of Libereco in Switzerland, demands: “All Western companies, above all Danone and Coca-Cola, must immediately stop their advertising on Russian and Belarusian propaganda channels. The advertising money of these companies co-finances the war propaganda of the state-controlled TV stations and thereby undermines the worldwide efforts to stop the war. With every additional euro of advertising money spent by Western companies, they are helping to finance Putin’s and Lukashenko’s murderous war. We demand that the EU, Switzerland and all democratic countries put all state media in Belarus and Russia on their sanctions lists, thus banning Western companies from further advertising.”

Internationale Unternehmen wie Coca-Cola und Danone platzieren auch Wochen nach dem Kriegsausbruch Werbung in den staatlich kontrollierten Medien in Russland und Belarus. Damit wird die Kriegspropaganda der russischen und belarusischen Regierungen mitfinanziert. Libereco fordert, dass alle westlichen Unternehmen ihre Werbung in diesen Medien umgehend beenden.

Der russisch-belarusische Angriffskrieg auf die Ukraine dauert seit zwei Monaten an und unzählige Gräueltaten der russischen Armee erschüttern die Welt. Ermöglicht werden der Krieg und die Kriegsverbrechen auch durch die gut finanzierte Propaganda und anti-ukrainische Hetze in den staatlich kontrollierten Medien von Russland und Belarus. 

Ohne die Lügen und Verzerrungen, die von den russischen und belarusischen Medien verbreitet werden, würde der Widerstand gegen den Krieg in der Bevölkerung und der Armee beider Länder vermutlich deutlich zunehmen.

Trotz der gezielten Desinformationen und Kriegs-Propaganda werben mehrere westliche Unternehmen weiterhin im russischen und belarusischen Staatsfernsehen für ihre Produkte. Von zuvor über 40 westlichen Unternehmen mit Werbeschaltungen im russischen Staatsfernsehen haben nach Ausbruch des Krieges fast alle namhaften internationalen Konzerne die Ausstrahlung von Werbespots beendet. 

Als letzte Weltmarke bewirbt Coca-Cola immer noch ihre Getränke im russischen Staatsfernsehen. Als letztes deutsches Unternehmen schaltet Dr. Theiss Naturwaren weiterhin Werbung auf Putins Propaganda-Sendern. Daneben konnten in einem Monitoring im April Werbespots für Produkte von Goldman Sachs (USA), JP Morgan (USA), Servier (Frankreich), Lactalis (Frankreich), Ipsen (Frankreich), Prosus (Niederlande), Grindeks (Lettland) und Tele2 (Schweden) beobachtet werden.

Belarus spielt eine wichtige Rolle im Krieg

Die Bedeutung von Belarus in Russlands Krieg gegen die Ukraine wird oft unterschätzt. Einerseits dient das Land als Operationsbasis für viele Angriffe auf die Ukraine, andererseits dünnt die ständige Drohung eines Einmarsches der belarusischen Armee in die Westukraine die Front für die ukrainischen Verteidiger im Osten des Landes aus.

Das belarusische Menschenrechtszentrum Viasna hat kürzlich mehrere Personen als neue politische Gefangene anerkannt. Ihr Vergehen war allein das Filmen russischer Militärkonvois in Belarus und die Veröffentlichung der Aufnahmen in Telegram-Kanälen. Inzwischen sind weit mehr als 1100 Menschen als politische Gefangene und Geiseln des Lukaschenko-Regimes in Belarus inhaftiert.

Libereco hat die Werbung westlicher Unternehmen im belarusischen Staatsfernsehen von Juli 2021 bis Februar 2022 beobachtet. Auf öffentlichen Druck hin hatten mehrere Unternehmen wie Henkel, Nestlé, JYSK oder Sandoz ihre Werbeschaltungen auf Lukaschenkos Propaganda-Sendern bereits per Ende 2021 eingestellt. 

Danone und Coca-Cola untergraben Friedensbemühungen

Konnte Libereco im November 2021 in einem Monitoring noch 27 westliche Unternehmen mit Werbeschaltungen im belarusischen Staatsfernsehen beobachten, so ging diese Zahl auf derzeit nur noch drei westliche Konzerne zurück. Danone weigert sich bisher genauso wie der US-amerikanische Pharma-Konzern Abbott, ihre Werbeschaltungen einzustellen. Das Pharma-Unternehmen Krewel-Meuselbach ist das letzte deutsche Unternehmen, dass noch Werbung im belarussischen Fernsehen ausstrahlen lässt.

Lars Bünger, Präsident von Libereco in der Schweiz, fordert: “Alle westlichen Unternehmen, allen voran Danone und Coca-Cola, müssen ihre Werbung auf den russischen und belarusischen Propaganda-Sendern umgehend beenden. Die Werbegelder dieser Unternehmen finanzieren die Kriegspropaganda der staatlich kontrollierten TV-Sender mit und untergraben dadurch die weltweiten Bemühungen den Krieg zu stoppen. Mit jedem weiteren Euro an Werbegeldern, den die westlichen Unternehmen ausgeben, finanzieren sie den mörderischen Kriegs Putins und Lukaschenkos mit. Wir fordern von der EU, der Schweiz und allen demokratischen Ländern, dass sie alle staatlichen Medien in Belarus und Russland auf ihre Sanktionslisten setzen und westlichen Unternehmen damit weitere Werbeschaltungen verbieten.”