Since summer, Belarus has been marked by violence and repression against its own people. On the occasion of Human Rights Day on 10 December, Libereco launches a postcard campaign for all political prisoners in Belarus. Join us and write a postcard or a letter to the neighbouring country of the EU.

The campaign will show the currently more than 180 political prisoners that we are thinking about them. At the same time, every postcard sends a signal to the authoritarian regime, too: That human rights violations in Belarus will not be tolerated and will be closely monitored abroad. The more people participate, the better!

To ensure that each of the many political prisoners receives postcards and letters, we have developed a random generator that assigns a different prisoner to each person taking part. Each time you reload this page, you will be offered a different political prisoner to write to.

Please write:

Safiya Malashevich was initially detained on September 6 during the March of Unity, after she spray-painted several drawings and slogans on the metal shields installed on riot-control vehicles. She was called a suspect under Part 1 of Art. 342 (organization or participation in group actions that gravely breach public order) and Part 2 of Art. 339 of the Criminal Code (hooliganism committed by a group of persons). Safiya was released on bail, but re-arrested on November 30.

Address:
София Малашевич
СИЗО
ул. Советская, 22А
222163, г. Жодино
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

What do I have to bear in mind when writing?

    • Please use the spelling of the address exactly as shown above.
    • The postcards have to be written in Russian or Belarusian, otherwise the postcard will not reach the prisoners.
    • Sending a postcard from Germany to Belarus costs 0.95 Euro, a letter 1.10 Euro.
    • Sending a postcard or a letter from Switzerland to Belarus costs 1.50 Franc in both cases.
    • To give the card a personal touch, write by hand if possible.

How can I participate in the campaign?

    • Anyone can send a postcard to Belarus. Take one that you already have at home or buy one, for example from your city. We keep getting feedback that this gesture is very important for the prisoners and gives them courage.
    • Put a picture with you and your postcard on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter and use the hashtag #WeStandBYyou. Take a selfie while writing the card or before you drop it in the mailbox. You can also send us the photo by email: media@lphr.org

My knowledge of Russian or Belarusian is limited? Don’t worry!

    • Online translation services like Google Translate or DeepL do a decent job, especially with simple and short sentences. It is not the grammar that counts, but the gesture!
    • You can be as creative as you like: You don’t have to use words, you can also draw something, for example.
    • Alternatively, you can use one of the following templates and just copy the message.

Templates:

Russian: Я пишу вам, чтобы вы знали, что о вас не забывают, о вас помнят. Люди во всем мире смотрят на Беларусь, внимательно следят за событиями в Беларуси и переживают за белорусов, за всех вас. Держитесь, сил вам и мужества! Надеюсь, что очень скоро наступят лучшие времена!

Belarusian: Пішу вам з тым каб вы ведалі, што пра вас не забываюцца, пра вас памятаюць. Людзі ўсяго свету глядзяць на Беларусь, уважліва сочаць за падзеямі ў краіне і перажываюць за беларусаў. Трымайцеся, сіл вам і моцы. Спадзяюся, што вельмі хутка прыйдуць лепшыя часы!

Translation: I write you to let you know that you are not forgotten. People all over the world are looking at Belarus, following what is happening there and caring about people like you. Please keep strong, I am hoping that better times will soon arrive!

The number of long-term detainees is rising steadily

In the first days of the protests against Lukashenka’s self-proclaimed victory, thousands of people were arrested and the regime’s violence resulted in deaths and injuries on the streets. When the first prisoners were released a few days later, the first reports of severe torture in Belarusian prisons reached the outside world.

Since August 2020, more than 30,000 people have been detained or protested peacefully for change and new democratic elections. However, not all of them have been released after a short time.

The number of political prisoners was already at 20 prior to the election. By the beginning of December, the number had risen to over 160 people. The political prisoners have already been unlawfully behind bars for several months. Their arrests are clearly politically motivated, while the sentences are disproportionately high. They are also denied independent legal counsel. Furthermore, many human rights defenders deplore inhumane accommodation and insufficient care for the detainees.

Prior to the election of the Belarusian president, the regime mainly arrested people who participated in or reported on the election campaign for opposition candidates. Among the 160 political prisoners are bloggers, journalists, members of the Coordination Council, journalists, students and human rights defenders – many of them are central figures of the protest. Some of them have been known to the regime for a long time and are therefore unpopular persons. The goals behind this are simple: to intimidate people in order to nip the protest in the bud.

“It is a gift to receive a letter from abroad”

“The Belarusian people are tired”, said Svetlana Tikhanovskaya during her visit to the Netherlands in November. Showing solidarity and giving hope is therefore the order of the day. Everyone can make a contribution. Tikhanovskaya, whose husband is one of the political prisoners in Belarus, said: “People in prison are as happy as a child when they receive a card. It is a gift to receive a letter from abroad. It shows that Europe is on our side”.

For more information on the situation in Belarus, you can visit the website of our Belarusian partner organisation Viasna. On the website you will find information about the current political prisoners and their stories, as well as detailed information about the human rights situation in Belarus: www.spring96.org.

Seit dem Sommer ist Belarus von Gewalt und Repressionen gegen die eigene Bevölkerung geprägt. Im Rahmen des Tages der Menschenrechte am 10. Dezember startet Libereco nun eine Postkarten-Aktion für alle politischen Gefangenen in Belarus. Machen auch Sie mit und schreiben Sie eine Postkarte oder einen Brief in das EU-Nachbarland!

Damit zeigen wir den aktuell über 180 politischen Gefangenen, dass wir an sie denken. Gleichzeitig sendet jede Postkarte dem autoritären Regime ein Signal, dass die Menschenrechtsverletzungen in Belarus auch im Ausland nicht toleriert und genauestens beobachtet werden. Je mehr mitmachen, desto besser!

Damit jede*r der vielen politischen Gefangenen Postkarten und Briefe bekommt, haben wir einen Zufallsgenerator entwickelt, der jeder teilnehmenden Person eine*n andere*n Inhaftierte*n zuteilt. Bei jedem Neuladen dieser Seite wird Ihnen ein*e andere*r Gefangene*r vorgeschlagen, der*dem Sie schreiben können.

Schreiben Sie doch:

Yauhen Kurhanau was detained as part of a case of "mass riots" (Article 293 of the Criminal Code). His apartment was searched. Yauhen is charged with participating in riots (Part 2) over a protest in August.

Adresse:
Евгений Курганов
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Was muss ich beim Schreiben beachten?

    • Bitte übernehmen Sie die Schreibweise des Adressfeldes genauso, wie es Ihnen oben angezeigt wird.
    • Die Postkarten müssen auf Russisch oder Belarussisch verfasst werden, sonst kommt die Post nicht bei den Gefangenen an.
    • Der Versand einer Postkarte aus Deutschland nach Belarus kostet 0,95 Euro, der eines Briefs 1,10 Euro.
    • Der Versand einer Postkarte oder eines Briefs aus der Schweiz nach Belarus kostet in beiden Fällen 1,50 Franken.
    • Damit die Karte eine persönliche Note hat, schreiben Sie wenn möglich mit der Hand.

Wie kann ich mich an der Aktion beteiligen?

    • Jede*r kann eine Postkarte nach Belarus schicken. Nehmen Sie eine, die Sie bereits zu Hause haben oder kaufen Sie eine, beispielsweise mit einem Motiv aus Ihrer Stadt. Wir bekommen immer wieder Rückmeldungen, dass diese Geste für die Gefangenen sehr wichtig ist und ihnen Mut macht.
    • Stellen Sie ein Bild von Ihnen mit der Postkarte auf Facebook, Instagram oder Twitter und nutze den Hashtag #WeStandBYyou. Fotografieren Sie sich beim Schreiben der Karte oder bevor Sie sie in den Briefkasten werfen. Schicken Sie uns das Foto auch gerne per E-Mail: media@lphr.org

Meine Russisch- oder Belarussisch-Kenntnisse sind begrenzt? Kein Problem!

    • Übersetzungsseiten wie Google Translate oder DeepL leisten gute Arbeit, insbesondere bei einfachen und kurzen Sätzen. Es kommt nicht auf die Grammatik, sondern die Geste an!
    • Oder lassen Sie Ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf: Es braucht nicht immer Wörter, Sie können beispielsweise auch etwas zeichnen.
    • Alternativ können Sie eine der nachfolgenden Vorlagen verwenden und die Grußbotschaft abschreiben.

Vorlagen:

Russisch: Я пишу вам, чтобы вы знали, что о вас не забывают, о вас помнят. Люди во всем мире смотрят на Беларусь, внимательно следят за событиями в Беларуси и переживают за белорусов, за всех вас. Держитесь, сил вам и мужества! Надеюсь, что очень скоро наступят лучшие времена!

Belarussisch: Пішу вам з тым каб вы ведалі, што пра вас не забываюцца, пра вас памятаюць. Людзі ўсяго свету глядзяць на Беларусь, уважліва сочаць за падзеямі ў краіне і перажываюць за беларусаў. Трымайцеся, сіл вам і моцы. Спадзяюся, што вельмі хутка прыйдуць лепшыя часы!

Übersetzung: Ich schreibe Ihnen, um Sie Wissen zu lassen, dass Sie nicht vergessen sind. Menschen auf der ganzen Welt schauen auf Belarus, sie verfolgen, was dort geschieht, und kümmern sich um Menschen wie Sie. Bitte bleiben Sie stark, ich hoffe, dass bald bessere Zeiten kommen werden!

Die Anzahl der Langzeitinhaftierten steigt kontinuierlich an

In den ersten Tagen der Proteste gegen Lukaschenkos selbst proklamierten Sieg wurden Tausende von Menschen verhaftet und die Gewalt des Regimes führte zu Toten und Verletzten auf den Straßen. Als nach einigen Tagen die ersten Gefangenen freigelassen wurden, erreichten die ersten Berichte über schwere Folterungen in den belarussischen Gefängnissen die Außenwelt.

Seit August 2020 wurden über 30.000 Menschen in Gewahrsam genommen, die friedlich für einen Wandel und demokratische Neuwahlen protestiert haben. Dennoch wurden nicht alle nach kurzer Zeit wieder freigelassen.

Die Anzahl der politischen Gefangenen lag im Vorfeld der Wahl bereits bei 20 Personen. Anfang Dezember waren es über 160 Personen. Die politischen Gefangenen sind bereits seit mehreren Monaten unrechtmäßig hinter Gitter. Ihre Verhaftungen sind eindeutig politisch motiviert, das Strafmaß unverhältnismäßig hoch. Zudem wird unabhängiger Rechtsbeistand verwehrt. Darüber hinaus beklagen viele Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen eine menschenunwürdige Unterbringung und Versorgung der Inhaftierten.

Im Vorfeld der Wahl zum belarussischen Präsidenten verhaftete das Regime vor allem Personen, die sich am Wahlkampf für Oppositionskandidat*innen beteiligten oder darüber berichteten. Unter den 160 politischen Gefangenen finden sich Blogger*innen, Journalist*innen, Mitglieder des Koordinierungsrats, Studierende und Menschenrechtsverteidiger*innen – viele von ihnen sind zentrale Figuren des Protests. Einige davon sind dem Regime schon lange bekannt und gleichermaßen unliebsame Personen. Die Ziele dahinter sind einfach: Die Menschen einzuschüchtern, um den Protest im Keim zu ersticken.

„Es ist ein Geschenk, einen Brief aus dem Ausland zu erhalten“

„Das belarussische Volk ist müde“, sagte Swetlana Tichanowskaja bei ihrem Besuch im November in den Niederlanden. Solidarität zu zeigen und Hoffnung zu geben, ist daher das Gebot der Stunde. Jede*r kann etwas dazu beitragen. Tichanowskaja, deren Ehemann einer der politischen Gefangenen in Belarus ist, erzählte: „Die Menschen im Gefängnis sind so glücklich wie ein Kind, wenn sie eine Karte bekommen. Es ist ein Geschenk, einen Brief aus dem Ausland zu erhalten. Es zeigt, dass Europa an unserer Seite steht“.

Für mehr Informationen über die Lage in Belarus können Sie die Seite unserer belarussischen Partnerorganisation Viasna besuchen. Auf der Website erhalten Sie Informationen über die aktuellen politischen Gefangenen und ihre Geschichten, sowie detaillierte Informationen über die Menschenrechtssituation in Belarus: www.spring96.org.