On 12 August Mikalai Statkevich, a Belarusian political prisoner, who was a candidate at the last presidential elections of 2010, will celebrate his 59th birthday. It is his fifth birthday behind bars, which he endures in a high security prison. From his cell he does not see the sky, clouds, the sun or trees.

Activists of Libereco, Amnesty International, Ostgruppen, Svaboda Institute, Wspolna and others, together with family members of Mikalai Statkevich, take up his birthday to organize a solidarity action for him – #Sky4Statkevich.

We ask every supporter to publish an own photo of the sky, clouds or the sun on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram with a hashtag #Sky4Statkevich. In addition you could send your photo to media@lphr.org. Libereco will send all photos to Mikalai Statkevich and to his family, and will also publish the photos on the Libereco Facebook page.

Mikalai Statkevich was detained at the night of the last presidential elections in December 2010 and was sentenced in an unfair trail to 6 years in prison for political reasons in May 2011. The Belarusian election committee denied his registration for the next presidential elections that will take place on 11 October 2015. Belarusian and international human rights organisations regard Mikalai Statkevich as a prisoner of conscience and are calling for his immediate and unconditional release.

Update 22.08.2015: Belarusian President Alexander Lukashenka released all political prisoners.

Am 12. August wird Mikalai Statkevich, ein belarussischer politischer Gefangener und Kandidat bei den letzten Präsidentschaftswahlen 2010, seinen 59. Geburtstag feiern. Es wird sein 5. Geburtstag hinter Gittern sein, den er in einem Hochsicherheitsgefängnis ertragen muss. Von seiner Zelle aus sieht er weder Himmel und Wolken noch Sonne oder Bäume.

Aktivisten von Libereco, Amnesty International, Ostgruppen, Svaboda Institute, Wspolna und anderen Organisationen nutzen gemeinsam mit der Familie von Mikalai Statkevich seinen Geburtstag, um eine Solidaritätsaktion für ihn zu organisieren – #Sky4Statkevich.

Wir bitten alle Unterstützer darum, ein eigenes Foto von Himmel, Wolken oder der Sonne auf Twitter, Facebook und Instagram mit dem Hashtag #Sky4Statkevich zu veröffentlichen. Ausserdem können Sie ihre Bilder an media@lphr.org senden. Libereco wird alle Fotos an Mikalai Statkevich und seine Familie senden und die Bilder ausserdem auf der Libereco Facebookseite veröffentlichen.

Mikalai Statkevich wurde in der Nacht der letzten Präsidentschaftswahlen im Dezember 2010 verhaftet und in einem unfairen Prozess im Mai 2011 aus politischen Gründen zu 6 Jahren Gefängnis verurteilt. Die belarussische Wahlkommission hat seine Registrierung für die nächsten Präsidentschaftswahlen am 11. Oktober 2015 verweigert. Belarussische und internationale Menschenrechtsorganisationen betrachten Mikalai Statkevich als Gewissensgefangenen und fordern seine sofortige und bedingungslose Freilassung.


Update 22.08.2015: Der belarussische Präsident Alexander Lukaschenko hat alle politischen Gefangenen freigelassen.