One’s birthday is traditionally a day for celebration and time with family and friends. However, political prisoners in Belarus are still spending their birthdays in prison this year. We therefore call to write a postcard to all political prisoners who celebrate their birthday in January.

Especially the birthday of the political prisoners in Belarus is a difficult day this year. Instead of celebrating with friends and family, they continue to be unlawfully imprisoned. For this reason, we want to express our solidarity with the prisoners by sending them as many postcards as possible. The addresses of all prisoners are collected on the website of our partner organization Viasna. You’ll find the addresses of political prisoners who celebrate their birthday in January here:

Marfa Rabkova, Birthday: 6 January
Марфа Рабкова
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Tsimur Pipiya, Birthday: 16 January
Тимур Пипия
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Yana Arabeika, Birthday: 17 January
Яна Оробейко
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Aliaksei Samusenka, Birthday: 23 January
Алексей Самусенко
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Pavel Drozd, Birthday: 24 January
Павел Дрозд
Следственная тюрьма №8
ул. Советская, 22А
222163, г. Жодино
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Dzianis Kireshchanka, Birthday: 29 January
Денис Кирещенко
СИЗО-6
ул. Брестская, 258 В
225413, г. Барановичи
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Raman Hvazdziolka, Birthday: 30 January
Роман Гвозделко
СИЗО-7
ул. Советских пограничников, 37
224030, г. Брест
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

What do I have to bear in mind when writing?

    • Please use the spelling of the address exactly as shown above.
    • The postcards have to be written in Russian or Belarusian, otherwise the postcard will not reach the prisoners.
    • Sending a postcard from Germany to Belarus costs 0.95 Euro, a letter 1.10 Euro.
    • Sending a postcard or a letter from Switzerland to Belarus costs 1.50 Franc in both cases.
    • To give the card a personal touch, write by hand if possible.

How can I participate in the campaign?

    • Anyone can send a postcard to Belarus. Take one that you already have at home or buy one, for example from your city. We keep getting feedback that this gesture is very important for the prisoners and gives them courage – even more on their birthday.
    • Put a picture with you and your postcard on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter and use the hashtag #WeStandBYyou. Take a selfie while writing the card or before you drop it in the mailbox. You can also send us the photo by email: media@lphr.org

My knowledge of Russian or Belarusian is limited? Don’t worry!

    • Online translation services like Google Translate or DeepL do a decent job, especially with simple and short sentences. It is not the grammar that counts, but the gesture!
    • You can be as creative as you like: You don’t have to use words, you can also draw something, for example.
    • Alternatively, you can use the following templates and just copy the message.
Belarusian: Пішу вам у сувязі з вашым днём народзінаў і хачу пажадаць вам здароўя, сілаў і веры ў лепшае. Няхай здзейсняцца вашыя пажаданні на наступны год. Хачу вас заверыць у тым, што людзі ўсяго свету захапляеюцца вашай мужнасцю і ангажаванасцю. Я хачу вам падзякаваць за тое, што вы сваім прыкладам паказваеце ўсяму свету, як можна змагацца за перамены.

Translation: I am writing to you on the occasion of your birthday to wish you health, strength and confidence. May your wishes for the next year of your life come true. I want you to know that people from all over the world admire your courage and dedication. Thank you for setting an example to the whole world of how to engage for change.

Der eigene Geburtstag ist traditionell ein Tag für Feierlichkeiten und Zeit mit der Familie und Freund*innen. Politische Gefangene in Belarus verbringen ihren Geburtstag dieses Jahr allerdings weiterhin im Gefängnis. Wir rufen deshalb dazu auf, allen Menschen, die im Januar Geburtstag haben, eine Postkarte ins Gefängnis zukommen zu lassen.

Gerade der eigene Geburtstag ist für die politischen Gefangenen in diesem Jahr ein schwieriger Tag. Statt Feierlichkeiten mit Freund*innen und Familie werden sie weiterhin unrechtmäßig inhaftiert. Aus diesem Grund wollen wir den Gefangenen mit möglichst vielen Postkarten unsere Solidarität zeigen. Die Adressen aller politischen Gefangenen werden auf der Webseite unserer Partnerorganisation Viasna gesammelt. Die Adressen der Inhaftierten mit Geburstag im Januar finden Sie gesammelt hier:

Marfa Rabkova, Geburtstag: 6. Januar
Марфа Рабкова
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Tsimur Pipiya, Geburtstag: 16. Januar
Тимур Пипия
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Yana Arabeika, Geburtstag: 17. Januar
Яна Оробейко
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Aliaksei Samusenka, Geburtstag: 23. Januar
Алексей Самусенко
СИЗО-1
ул. Володарского, 2
220030, г. Минск
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Pavel Drozd, Geburtstag: 24. Januar
Павел Дрозд
Следственная тюрьма №8
ул. Советская, 22А
222163, г. Жодино
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Dzianis Kireshchanka: Geburtstag: 29. Januar
Денис Кирещенко
СИЗО-6
ул. Брестская, 258 В
225413, г. Барановичи
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Raman Hvazdziolka, Geburtstag: 30. Januar
Роман Гвозделко
СИЗО-7
ул. Советских пограничников, 37
224030, г. Брест
REPUBLIC OF BELARUS

Was muss ich beim Schreiben beachten?

    • Bitte übernehmen Sie die Schreibweise der Adresse genauso, wie es Ihnen angezeigt wird.
    • Die Postkarten müssen auf Russisch oder Belarussisch verfasst werden, sonst kommt die Post nicht bei den Gefangenen an.
    • Der Versand einer Postkarte aus Deutschland nach Belarus kostet 0,95 Euro, der eines Briefs 1,10 Euro.
    • Der Versand einer Postkarte oder eines Briefs aus der Schweiz nach Belarus kostet in beiden Fällen 1,50 Franken.
    • Damit die Karte eine persönliche Note hat, schreiben Sie wenn möglich mit der Hand.

Wie kann ich mich an der Aktion beteiligen?

    • Jede*r kann eine Postkarte nach Belarus schicken. Nehmen Sie eine, die Sie bereits zu Hause haben oder kaufen Sie eine, beispielsweise mit einem Motiv aus Ihrer Stadt. Wir bekommen immer wieder Rückmeldungen, dass diese Geste für die Gefangenen sehr wichtig ist und ihnen Mut macht – umso mehr an ihrem Geburtstag.
    • Stellen Sie ein Bild von Ihnen mit der Postkarte auf Facebook, Instagram oder Twitter und nutze den Hashtag #WeStandBYyou. Fotografieren Sie sich beim Schreiben der Karte oder bevor Sie sie in den Briefkasten werfen. Schicken Sie uns das Foto auch gerne per E-Mail: media@lphr.org

Meine Russisch- oder Belarussisch-Kenntnisse sind begrenzt? Kein Problem!

    • Übersetzungsseiten wie Google Translate oder DeepL leisten gute Arbeit, insbesondere bei einfachen und kurzen Sätzen. Es kommt nicht auf die Grammatik, sondern die Geste an!
    • Oder lassen Sie Ihrer Kreativität freien Lauf: Es braucht nicht immer Wörter, Sie können beispielsweise auch etwas zeichnen.
    • Alternativ können Sie die nachfolgende Vorlage verwenden und die Grußbotschaft abschreiben.
Belarussisch: Пішу вам у сувязі з вашым днём народзінаў і хачу пажадаць вам здароўя, сілаў і веры ў лепшае. Няхай здзейсняцца вашыя пажаданні на наступны год. Хачу вас заверыць у тым, што людзі ўсяго свету захапляеюцца вашай мужнасцю і ангажаванасцю. Я хачу вам падзякаваць за тое, што вы сваім прыкладам паказваеце ўсяму свету, як можна змагацца за перамены.

Übersetzung: Ich schreibe Ihnen anläßlich Ihres Geburtstages und Wünsche Ihnen Gesundheit, Kraft und Zuversicht. Mögen Ihre Wüsche für das nächste Lebensjahr in Erfüllung zu gehen. Ich möchte Sie wissen lassen, dass Menschen aus aller Welt Ihren Mut und Ihren Einsatz bewundern. Ich danke Ihnen, dass Sie der ganzen Welt ein Beispiel geben, wie man sich für Veränderung einsetzen kann.