Ukraine: Help for a school in a war zone – Donate to children in Verkhnyotoretske

13-originalThere is a war going on, right here in Europe. Only 2000 km from us. That war in Ukraine predominantly affects those who did not start it: Children and young people in the conflict zone. They live in permanent fear and are traumatised.

The school in Verkhnyotoretske tries to take care of its 70 students, who range from 1st to 11th grade, and to continue school life as well as possible – even though the ceasefire line between the Ukrainian army and separatist forces runs right through the village. Almost every night there is fighting, sometimes also by day. The school building has been affected several times. One teacher died, and the building was heavily damaged.

14The village school not only educates children and youth, it also offers psychological support. Activities such as handicrafts and staging plays help to reduce the stress, aggression and fear induced by the conflict. That is why the school needs handicrafts material, such as colored paper, brushes, paints, and fabrics.

In order to give these children and young people some positive experiences in the midst of wartime, Christmas and New Year will be celebrated at school in the upcoming weeks. Again, the school is in need of materials for decorations and costumes. Furthermore, small Christmas presents will be delivered to children in Verkhnyotoretske and other villages in the war zone.

Without our financial aid, it is unlikely that the school will be able to continue working. At the moment there is an urgent need for:

  • three laptop computers, two printers and a projector for lessons and extracurricular activities
  • handicraft materials
  • sweets for the Christmas party

16

“Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights” is collecting donations for the village school together with our partner organisation “Vostok SOS”, which is operating on the ground. We transfer all donations for the school to “Vostok SOS”. Since everybody at “Libereco” works voluntarily, your donation will be transferred without any deductions. The whole amount of your donation is going to benefit the school and children in Verkhnyotoretske.

A donation of:

20 EUR makes it possible to buy sweets for the school’s Christmas party

30 EUR makes it possible to buy Christmas presents for children in Verkhnyotoretske and other villages in the war zone

50 EUR makes it possible to buy handicraft materials for several of children

100 EUR makes it possible to buy a Santa Claus (Ded Moroz) costume or a printer

200 EUR makes it possible to buy a laptop computer

300 EUR makes it possible to buy a projector

Inside Germany: Support our crowdfunding project at betterplace.org

Inside Switzerland: Support our crowdfunding project at 100-days.net

Inside Netherlands: Support our crowdfunding project at onepercentclub.com

Of course you can donate directly to Libereco as well

We are grateful for every donation, however large or small. Through your support, you are sending a sign of solidarity and compassion to the children and young people who suffer the most from the war in Ukraine. Thank you very much for your help!

3

 

Background

Since Spring 2014, the Ukrainian army and separatist groups backed by Russia have been fighting each other in south-east Ukraine. The United Nations estimates more than 9,500 fatalities and upwards of 22,000 injured since the fighting in Donbas started. More than 2,000 civilians have lost their life due to artillery fire. In spite of the ceasefire agreements signed in Minsk, fighting continues.

auto

The village of Verkhnyoturetske is divided: three-quarters is controlled by Ukrainian forces, one quarter by separatists. The village is blocked by military checkpoints, going out after dark is prohibited. After 7pm, there is a strict curfew. It is advisable to not even go into your own front yard, as gunfighting and explosions may take place at any time without prior notice.

 

 

Donation information

„Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights“ is an officially-approved charitable organisation. Donations to “Libereco” are tax-deductible in Germany, Switzerland and the Netherlands. We mail donation certificates for the past year at the beginning of each year.

If you would like to receive a donation certificate, please state your complete address or send it to spenden@lphr.org.

Ukraine: Hilfe für eine Schule im Kriegsgebiet – Spenden Sie für die Kinder in Werchnotorezke

13-originalEs herrscht Krieg – mitten in Europa. Nur 2000 Kilometer von uns entfernt. Von diesem Krieg in der Ukraine sind vor allem diejenigen betroffen, die ihn nicht angefangen haben: Kinder und Jugendliche im Konfliktgebiet. Sie leben in permanenter Angst und sind traumatisiert.

Die Schule in Werchnotorezke versucht für ihre 70 Schülerinnen und Schüler der 1. bis 11. Klasse da zu sein und den Schulbetrieb so gut es geht fortzuführen. Und das, obwohl die Waffenstillstandslinie zwischen der ukrainischen Armee und separatistischen Kämpfern mitten durch das Dorf verläuft. Fast jede Nacht kommt es zu Gefechten, manchmal auch während des Tages. Mehrmals wurde das Schulgebäude getroffen. Ein Lehrer starb und das Gebäude wurde schwer beschädigt.

14Die Kinder und Jugendlichen werden in der Schule nicht nur ausgebildet, sondern auch psychologisch betreut. Aktivitäten wie Basteln und Theaterspielen helfen dabei, konfliktbedingte Stresszustände, Aggressionen und Angst abzubauen. Dafür braucht die Schule Material wie etwa farbiges Papier, Pinsel, Farben oder Stoffe.

Um den Kindern und Jugendlichen positive Erlebnisse inmitten des Kriegsalltags zu ermöglichen, soll in den nächsten Wochen an der Schule Weihnachten und Neujahr gefeiert werden. Auch dafür benötigt die Schule Material für Dekorationen und Kostüme. Darüber hinaus sollen kleine Weihnachtsgeschenke an die Kinder in Werchnotorezke und in anderen Dörfern im Kriegsgebiet verteilt werden.

Ohne unsere finanzielle Unterstützung wird die Schule kaum in der Lage sein, ihre Arbeit fortzusetzen. Momentan braucht sie dringend:
– drei Laptops, zwei Drucker und einen Beamer für den Unterricht und außerschulische Aktivitäten
– Bastelmaterial
– Süßigkeiten für das Weihnachtsfest

16„Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights“ sammelt zusammen mit unserer vor Ort tätigen Partnerorganisation „Vostok SOS“ Spenden für die Schule. Alle Spenden, die wir für die Schule erhalten, geben wir an „Vostok SOS“ weiter. Wir bei Libereco engagieren uns alle ehrenamtlich. Daher können wir ihre Spenden ohne Abzug weiterleiten. Die Gelder kommen zu 100% bei der Schule und den Kindern in Werchnotorezke an.

20 Euro ermöglichen den Kauf von Süßigkeiten für das Weihnachtsfest der Schule

30 Euro ermöglichen den Kauf von Weihnachtsgeschenken für die Kinder in Werchnotorezke und in anderen Dörfern im Kriegsgebiet

50 Euro ermöglichen den Kauf von Bastelmaterial für mehrere Kinder

100 Euro ermöglichen den Kauf eines Weihnachtsmannkostüms oder eines Druckers

200 Euro ermöglichen den Kauf eines Laptops

300 Euro ermöglichen den Kauf eines Beamers

Für Deutschland: Hier geht es zum Crowdfunding-Projekt bei betterplace.org

Für die Schweiz: Hier geht es zum Crowdfunding-Projekt bei 100-days.net

Für die Niederlande: Hier geht es zum Crowdfunding-Projekt bei onepercentclub.com

Ausserdem können Sie direkt an Libereco spenden

Wir freuen uns über jeden kleineren und größeren Betrag. Mit Ihrer Unterstützung senden Sie ein großes Zeichen der Solidarität und des Mitgefühls an die Kinder und Jugendlichen, die unter dem Krieg in der Ukraine am meisten leiden. Haben Sie vielen Dank für Ihre Unterstützung!

3

Hintergrund

Seit dem Frühjahr 2014 kämpfen die ukrainische Armee und von Russland unterstützte separatistische Gruppen im Südosten der Ukraine gegeneinander. Die Vereinten Nationen haben seit Beginn der Kampfhandlungen im Donbass mehr als 9.500 Todesopfer und mehr als 22.000 Verletzte gezählt. Mehr als 2.000 Zivilisten sind bisher durch Artilleriebeschuss ums Leben gekommen. Trotz der in Minsk abgeschlossenen Waffenstillstandsabkommen dauern die Kämpfe weiter an.

autoDas Dorf Werchnotorezke wird zu Dreivierteln von ukrainischen und zu einem Viertel von separatistischen Kräften kontrolliert. Der Ort ist von Militär-Checkpoints blockiert, ab Einbruch der Dunkelheit darf man sich nicht mehr im Freien bewegen. Ab 19 Uhr gilt eine strikte Ausgangssperre. Man sollte sich dann nicht einmal im eigenen Garten oder im Hinterhof aufhalten, denn Feuergefechte und Explosionen können jederzeit ohne Vorankündigung passieren.

Spendenhinweis

„Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights“ ist als gemeinnützig anerkannt. Spenden an Libereco können in Deutschland, der Schweiz und der Niederlande von der Steuer abgezogen werden. Entsprechende jährliche Spendenbescheinigungen versenden wir jeweils zu Beginn des Folgejahres.

Wenn Sie eine Spendenbestätigung erhalten möchten, geben Sie bitte Ihre vollständige Adresse an bzw. teilen Sie uns diese mit an spenden@lphr.org